Canadian Cyclist


November 21/11 14:57 pm - UCI Releases WorldTour Team List

Posted by Editoress on 11/21/11

The UCI has now released the list of teams that have qualified for WorldTour status in 2012.  So far, 16 teams have qualified, and there is space for two more.  Eight teams met the UCI criteria in the initial announcement:

Astana Pro Team
BMC Racing Team
Garmin - Cervélo
Lampre - ISD
Liquidas - Cannondale
Movistar Team
Sky Procycling
Vacansoleil - DCM

To this group have been added seven more (some with multi-year licences):

AG2R La Mondiale
FDJ (2012-2014)
Katusha Team (2012-2015)
Lotto Belisol Team (2012-2015)
Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team (2012-2014)
Team Saxo Bank (2012 - one year extension)

Team Europcar was rejected, and the GEOX-TMC application was withdrawn after the sponsor GEOX pulled out.  Both will be considered for Pro Continental licences.

There are two more WorldTour spots available, and those will likely go to the GreenEdge Cycling Team and RadioShack - Nissan once they have completed additional paperwork for the UCI.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.