Canadian Cyclist


March 18/12 7:23 am - Pietermaritzburg MTB World Cup: Junior Men XC

Posted by Editoress on 03/18/12

To absolutely no one's surprise, the young New Zealand phenom, Anton Cooper (Trek World Racing), easily won the final cross-country race of the Pietermaritzburg World Cup on Sunday morning, beating world champion Victor Koretzky by over four and a half minutes. Brazil's Nicolas Sessler took third.

After the heavy rain of the previous evening and overnight, the course had started to dry, but some sections were still treacherous, so the decision was taken to close the 'A' line on a few of the most difficult technical sections. Koretzky flatted late in the first lap, but it made no difference - Cooper as already over a minute up and pulling away.

Cooper will now miss the next three World Cups while he finishes up his school year, but will return for the Mont Ste Anne round in late June.

Junior Men
1 Anton Cooper (NZl) Trek World Racing 1:09:48
2 Victor Koretzky (Fra) Bikepark.Ch Scott 4:29
3 Nicolas Sessler (Bra) Brazilian National Team 5:54
4 Manuel Fasnacht (Sui) Fischer Junior MTB Team 6:50
5 Boris Cara (Bel) Houffalize-Granville Team 6:59
6 Enea Vetsch (Sui) Bskgraf Rollmat-Koba MTB Team 7:49
7 Fredrik Fang Liland (Nor) Merida NTG 8:00
8 Edvard Vea Iversen (Nor) Merida NTG 9:06
9 Patrick Belton (RSA) South Africa - B 9:52
10 Connor Bell (USA) Team USA 10:42
11 Paul Rodenbach (RSA) South Africa - B 11:30
12 Ben Bradley (Aus) Australian National Team 13:03
13 Dylan Hattingh (RSA) South Africa - B 13:32
14 Evan Van Der Spuy (RSA) South Africa - B 13:45
15 Dominik Banyai (Hun) National Team Hungary 14:48
16 Casey Williams (USA) Team USA 15:25
17 Richardt Ferreira (RSA) South Africa - B 16:56
18 Werner Van Heerden (RSA) South Africa - B 19:25
19 Edward Best (RSA) South Africa - B -1 Lap
20 Gareth Andrews (RSA) South Africa - B -1 Lap
21 Frans Grotepass (RSA) South Africa - B -1 Lap
22 Jaco Pelser (RSA) South Africa - B -1 Lap
23 Lichaba West (Les) National Team Lesotho -2 Laps
DNF Kyle Dorkin (RSA) South Africa - B
DNF Matthew Schofield (RSA) South Africa - B
DNF Bercel Meggyesi (Hun) National Team Hungary
DNF Alex Baker (GBr) Orange Monkey-Cannondale


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.