Canadian Cyclist


March 31/12 9:43 am - BMX SuperCross World Cup #1 TT Superfinal results

Posted by Editoress on 03/31/12

The opening round of the 2012 UCI BMX Supercross got underway in Chula Vista, California on Friday with Connor Fields (USA) and Caroline Buchanan (AUS) taking the victories in the men’s and women’s time trial super final.

Nearly 200 of the world’s best BMX racers took to the Beijing Olympics replica track at the US Olympic Training Center in the race against the clock. Sixty-four men and 32 women qualified for today’s the finals (31st March).

Olympic year heats up competition

In this Olympic year, all the major players were in attendance. Fields posted the fastest time of the nearly 150 elite men in the opening heat. Olympic gold medalist Maris Strombergs (LAT) finished second and the reigning USA Cycling National Champion Corben Sharrah took third spot.

“I grew up on this track,” explained Fields. “I started riding it in 2008 and so I know it like the back of my hand now. It was a good start to an important season, but you are only as good as your last race and there is another race tomorrow.”

Buchanan peaks at the right moment.

In the women’s competition, Australia’s Caroline Buchanan took top spot in front of two Americans. The fourth-ranked rider in last year’s UCI BMX Supercross World Cup standings, Buchanan edged out American favourite Arielle Martin by less than 4/10ths of a second. Along with Martin, Amanda Carr (USA) upped her game to secure the bronze in the Super final.

Report courtesy UCI


Results from Finals at the BMX SuperCross/World Cup in Chula Vista, California (USA)


Women TT Superfinal
1 Caroline Buchanan (Australia) 36.073
2 Arielle Martin (United States) 36.546
3 Amanda Carr (United States) 36.567
4 Magalie Pottier (France) 36.605
5 Brooke Crain (United States) 36.843
6 Alise Post (United States) 36.958
7 Melinda Mcleod (Australia) 37.082
8 Lauren Reynolds (Australia) 37.147
9 Jana Horakova (Czech Republic) 37.201
10 Amanda Geving (United States) 37.247
11 Mariana Pajon (Colombia) 37.315
12 Dani George (United States) 37.610
13 Romana Labounkova (Czech Republic) 37.670
14 Felicia Stancil (United States) 37.795
15 Laetitia Le Corguille (France) 37.993
16 Aneta Hladikova (Czech Republic) 38.532


Elite Men's TT SuperFinal
1 Connor Fields (United States) 33.648
2 Maris Strombergs (Latvia) 34.413
3 Corben Sharrah (United States) 34.682
4 Tory Nyhaug (Canada) 34.814
5 Vincent Pelluard (France) 34.828
6 Sam Willoughby (Australia) 34.856
7 Liam Phillips (Great Britain) 34.906
8 Nicholas Long (United States) 35.107
9 Joris Daudet (France) 35.194
10 David Herman (United States) 35.309
11 Barry Nobles (United States) 35.383
12 Twan Van Gendt (Netherlands) 35.462
13 Tyler Faoro (United States) 35.522
14 Mike Day (United States) 43.174
DNF Simon Duchene (France)
DNF Marc Willers (New Zealand)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.