Canadian Cyclist


April 10/12 16:00 pm - Blizzard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 04/10/12

Spring Stage Race as of Stage #5 (3 more to go)

April 8th
George Gamble leads the Spring Stage Race with two stage wins and two second place wins, so far and has 18 points. Kevin Shaw is in second with 16 points and Irvin Tang third at 14 points and two stage wins. Pat Ferris is in 4th with 9 points, Gord Harris and Gary Hilderman both have 8 and Sam Keats has one point.

Celeste Pakstas leads the women's with a perfect 5 stage wins and 25 points. Barb Polehoykie sits second at 16, Dian Loro 7 for third and Norma Webster 4th at 6.

Kelsey Young leads the 'Under 19' with 10 points.

Stage 1 time trial, Thursday, winner was Irvin Tang at 26:36 with George Gamble and Kevin Shaw  second and third. 11 riders.

Stage 2 Beatton hill climb, Friday, winner was Irvin Tang at 24:58 and George Gamble second and Pat Ferris just ahead of Kevin Shaw for third. 11 riders.

Stage 3 Frozen John loop, Friday afternoon, was won by George Gamble ahead of Kevin Shaw and Gary Hilderman. 9 riders.

Stage 4 Mile 62 road race, Saturday, was won by George Gamble, ahead of Irvin Tang and Kevin Shaw. 6 riders.

Stage 5 Cecil Lake road race, Sunday, was won in a tight bunch sprint by Gary Hilderman over Kevin Shaw, Pat Ferris and Gord Harris. 10 riders.
Coming up: A short Montney 25 km road race for Stage 6 , Tuesday night, at 6:30 pm, stage 7 is the Baldonnel time trial at 6:30 pm on Thursday and Sunday is the Famous Rocky Road gravel road race in Taylor at 1:30 pm.  for details.

April 1st
Kevin Shaw won a close sprint over George Gamble to win Sunday's 40 km Beatton loop road race. Their time was 1:19:18 minutes. Pat Ferris was third, outsprinting Gary Hilderman and Gord 'The Hammer' Harris all at 1:22:42. Stephen Ferris and Celeste Pakstas were tied for 6th at 1:32:17. Davide Loro did a scenic 60 route at 2:18:13.

Chris Wagner won the 25 km loop event with 54:55 hours. Adam Currie was second at 57:16 and Sam Keats third at 58:44 and Kelsey Young 58:45. Anna Thompson was 5th at 1:00:38 and Dian Loro 1:09:13.

 Fourteen riders started out under very nice spring conditions. Kevin Shaw and George Gamble pulled away by the 20 km mark to leave the remaining riders behind and sprinted it out at the finish.

The Spring Stage race is 8 races over two weeks. Colter Young is the defending champion but will be riding for Red Truck's Cycling Team in California and will be unable to defend.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.