Canadian Cyclist


July 12/12 15:13 pm - Tour of Poland: Stage 2 and 3

Posted by Editoress on 07/12/12

Zdenek Stybar earned the 44th win in three disciplines for Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team this season, winning the 201km stage in the final meters by more than a bike length.

Stybar led around the final corner as the peloton surged to catch two escapees in the final meters. Michal Kwiatkowski was not far behind, and finished fourth. Kwiatkowski remains in 2nd overall, trailing Moreno Moser (Liquigas-Cannondale) by a second. Francesco Gavazzi (Astana Pro Team) was 2nd and Sacha Modolo (Colnago) 3rd. Kwiatkowski would have taken over the leader's jersey had he made the podium.

"It was a quite hard race," Stybar said. "We had to work a lot to chase down the breakaway, but we shared the work with other teams. We were always in the first part of the group. In the local circuit, Trentin went in a breakaway and then I also entered in a breakaway at two laps to go. I didn't chase to protect Matteo and even because Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team), who was with me, could be dangerous for the GC. But then when Matteo was caught I still managed to stay in the front and make the sprint. Matteo put me and Kwaitkowski in the best position possible before the cobblestones at 1km to go. At 500 meters to go, I let Moser and Gavazzi pass me and I waited for a good moment. I made my move just before the last corner and I won. I'm really happy because the race passed in Czech Republic, in my home country. I could really feel the crowd on the road supporting me. I'm also happy because I won my first UCI WorldTour race. The level here is very high, it's another important step in my career. This victory gave me more confidence."

"I was so close to the leader's jersey today," Kwiatkowski said. "At the sprint I did my best, but I was 4th. In any case I'm happy about my condition. Today I also tried for the bonification sprint and I took 3 seconds. Now I'm only at 1" from Moser. The race is still open and we will fight to win until the end. I want to congratulate Styby for his victory. He showed to everybody how strong he can be."

Omega Pharma-Quickstep press release

Stage 2 (July 11th): Walbrzych to Opole, 239.4km
1 Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling 5:49:57
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
3 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
4 John Degenkolb (Ger) Argos-Shimano
5 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
6 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan
7 Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
8 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
9 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) RadioShack-Nissan
10 Alexander Serebryakov (Rus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi all s.t.
194 Dominique Rollin (Can) FDJ-Big Mat, 14:31
Stage 3: Kedzierzyn to Cieszyn, 201.7km
1 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quickstep 5:01:51
2 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team
3 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
4 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
5 Moreno Moser (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
6 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
7 Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) Polish National Team
8 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
9 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling
10 Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team all s.t.
147 Dominique Rollin (Can) FDJ-Big Mat 10:46
1 Moreno Moser (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 15:24:31
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quickstep at 0:04
3 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:06
4 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Garmin - Sharp 0:07
5 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) RadioShack-Nissan 0:09
6 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling 0:10
7 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre - ISD
8 Michal Golas (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
9 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Katusha Team all s.t.
170 Dominique Rollin (Can) FDJ-Big Mat 32:11


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.