Canadian Cyclist


August 21/12 10:04 am - Club News: Blizzard Bike Club

Posted by Editoress on 08/21/12

Latest news from the Blizzard Bike Club in Fort St John, BC

Cactus mountain bike race on August 19th
Richard Howes won a tough and hot Cactus mountain bike race, Sunday. He had a time of 1:05:15 for the one and a half loop main event. Matt Gilmore was second at 1:08:38 and Pat Ferris third at 1:12:13. Danielle Howes was 4th at 1:12:16 and George Gamble 5th at 1:15:04.

The riders did the long loop with the new creek loop and then did a ‘short course’ loop as well for 12 kms. Conditions were hot and dry for the fourteen riders.

Kelsey Young won the long course with 38:40 minutes. Sam Keats had 48:58, Tammy Howes 51:50 and Davide Loro 56:15.

Daric McDonell had 45:28 and Irvin Tang 49:10 for two laps and LT McDonell 29:10 for 1 lap. Two riders did not finish.



Ready to start


Thank you Rob Young for timing!

Coming up:
Wednesday (Aug 22nd) at  7pm for the Cactus race, Thursday night (Aug 23rd)  at 7pm for the final Baldonnel time trial and 10 am Sunday for the Cactus Sunday mountain bike race 10:00 am.

Baldonnel Time Trial on August 16th
Chris Haugan won his third race of the 2012 season with a Baldonnel time trial winning time of 26:23 minutes. Barb Polehoykie was second at 27:47 and Celeste Pakstas third at 28:08. Pat Ferris was 4th with 28:20 on a mountain bike and Davide Loro 5th at 29:03.



Heather McCracken at the start


Conditions were perfect and fast. Thanks to Jolea Bilodeau for timing!

Heather McCracken was 6th at 29:19, Sam Keats 29:22, David Bekele 30:27, Connor McDonell 35:42 and Sarah Webster 44:42 for the nights top ten times. LT and Trevor McDonell had 47:14 for 11th, Alyssa Webster 50:08 and Norma Webster 51:19. Dian Loro had 16:42 and Tanner McCracken 17:56 for the 8 km.


Wednesday Niter MTB on August 15th
Pat Ferris won the Wednesday Niter mountain bike race on the Cactus Trails. He did the big loop plus the new Creek Loop in 45:05 minutes for the new, longer 9 km distance. Matt Gilmore was second at 45:40 and Richard Howes third at 48:30. George Gamble was 4th at 48:51.

Club members have been working on this new trail addition for the past few months. This is the first time it has been raced on.

In the regular loop race, Danielle Howes had a time of 35:30. Chris Wagner was second at 41:00, Adam Currie 45:08, Sam Keats 51:02 and Davide Loro 51:41.


The Blizzard Bike Club on FaceBook 




Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.