Canadian Cyclist


August 23/12 0:13 am - UCI Junior Track Cycling World Championships: Day 2, afternoon schedule

Posted by Editoress on 08/23/12

New Zealand’s female sprinters all safely navigated their way through this afternoon’s qualifying stages of the sprint on the second day of the UCI Juniors Track World Championships in Invercargill.

Auckland’s Paige Paterson averaged almost 62km/h on her way to posting the fastest time of the field of 17 riders in the opening round to finish in a time of 11:671.

The other two Kiwis in Victoria Steel from Canterbury and Kate Dunlevey from Southland missed out on the top seven automatic qualifiers in the time trial but were successful in their repechage races to move into the next round.

In the first round, Paterson kept her seeding by beating Ummi Hamimah Mohamad of Malaysia to earn a spot in tonight’s quarterfinals. Steel also entered tonight’s main draw after upsetting fourth seeded Australian Allee Proud. Meanwhile, local rider Dunlevey came through another exciting repechage race to add to the list of New Zealanders in the quarters.

The remaining eight riders to sprint for the gold medal this evening comprise three from New Zealand, two from Russia, and one rider each from USA, Netherlands and Australia.

The men’s omnium got underway this afternoon as 16 riders tackled the 250m flying lap for the first of six events over two days.

European Championship bronze medallist Jon Dibben (GBR) took the honours in a time of 13:578 from Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) and Tirian McManus (AUS) with New Zealand’s Taylah Harrison in fourth.

The 18-year-old Cantabrian posted a time of 13:808 the flying lap, which is not his favoured event.

“He will be happy with fourth place in the flying lap as it’s not really his specialty event. He just rode it really smart and did a good, efficient ride,” said New Zealand omnium technical advisor Hayden Godfrey.

“The key thing for Taylah is going to be consistency through all six events. The mass start ones are the races we really need to focus on because you don’t have as much control as you do in the individually timed events. He’s going to have to be very tactically smart in those.”

Stadium Southland Veldrome is expected to host another full house tonight to witness three more finals, as well as the second and third legs of the men’s omnium.

“Taylah’s a very emotional rider if the crowd gets in behind him that should really lift him up a lot,” said Godfrey, the 2008 Omnium world champion.

Day 2 results

Women Sprint
1 Paige Paterson (NZL) 11.671
2 Lidia Pluzhnikova (RUS) 11.680
3 Daria Shmeleva (RUS) 11.690
4 Audrey Lee Proud (AUS) 11.699
5 Caitlin Ward (AUS) 11.712
6 Elis Ligtlee (NED) 11.827
7 Jennifer Valente (USA) 11.832
8 Martha Bayona (COL) 11.925
9 Victoria Steel (NZL) 11.993
10 Kate Dunlevey (NZL) 12.077
11 Shana Dalvang (BEL) 12.301
12 Ummi Mohamad (MAS) 12.472
13 Aline Tamez Vela (MEX) 12.560
14 Chloe Chepigin (USA) 12.634
15 Audrey Labrie (CAN) 12.710
16 Jodi Goodridge (TRI) 13.101
17 Aziza Browne (TRI) 13.244
top 7 direct to to Round 1, rest to Repechage
Heat 1
1 Martha Bayona (COL)
2 Aziza Browne (TRI)
Heat 2
1 Victoria Steel (NZL)
2 Jodi Goodridge (TRI)
Heat 3
1 Kate Dunlevey (NZL)
2 Audrey Labrie (CAN)
Heat 4
1 Shana Dalvang (BEL)
2 Chloe Chepigin (USA)i
Heat 5
1 Ummi Mohamad (MAS)
2 Aline Tamez Vela (MEX)
Round 1
Heat 1
1 Paige Paterson (NZL)
2 Ummi Mohamad (MAS)
Heat 2
1 Lidia Pluzhnikova (RUS)
2 Shana Dalvang (BEL)
Heat 3
1 Daria Shmeleva (RUS)
2 Kate Dunlevey (NZL)
Heat 4
1 Victoria Steel (NZL)
2 Audrey Lee Proud (AUS)
Heat 5
1 Caitlin Ward (AUS)
2 Martha Bayona (COL)
Heat 6
1 Elis Ligtlee (NED)
2 Jennifer Valente (USA)
Round 1 Repechage
Heat 1
1 Jennifer Valente (USA
2 Audrey Lee Proud (AUS)
3 Ummi Mohamad (MAS)
Heat 2
1 Kate Dunlevey (NZL)
2 Shana Dalvang (BEL)
3 Martha Bayona (COL)
Men Omnium
Flying lap
1 Jon Dibben (GBR) 13.578
2 Fernando Gaviria (COL) 13.652
3 Tirian McManus (AUS) 13.691
4 Tayla Harrison (NZL) 13.808
5 Vladyslav Kreminskyl (UKR) 13.902


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.