Canadian Cyclist


September 12/12 8:45 am - Canadian Track Championships Begin Wednesday

Posted by Editor on 09/12/12

The 2012 Canadian Track Cycling Championships are here! The 2012 edition of the event will be held in Dieppe, New-Brunswick, starting on Wednesday, and will end on Monday, September 17th.

Throughout the six-day event, fans will see in action Canada’s top track cyclists racing on the newly resurfaced track at the Caisse Populaire Dieppe/Memramcook velodrome, including the full Olympic Team Pursuit medallists Tara Whitten, Gillian Carleton, Jasmin Glaesser and Laura Brown, as well as Olympic sprinter Joseph Veloce.

Luc Arseneau, technical director of the organizing committee, is pleased with the preparations in advance of the event. “We are ready to welcome Canada’s best riders to Dieppe, to New Brunswick, to Atlantic Canada. Thanks to all our partners, to the many volunteers who are helping us, as well as the City of Dieppe and the Province of New Brunswick for their contributions, we are confident that the riders will enjoy their stay in Atlantic Canada. The event will be a great opportunity to see some our Canadian Olympic medallists in action, as well as the best para-cyclists, Cadet, Junior and Master racers this country has to offer.”

Racing begins with the Elite races on Wednesday and Thursday. Then, the Junior and Cadet riders will take over the track. On the weekend the para-cyclists, fresh off the Paralympic Games in London, and the Masters will then conclude the event.  In total, 89 riders have registered for the event.

The event is organized by the National Cycling Centre - Atlantic Canada in collaboration with Cycling Canada and Vélo NB. The National Cycling Centre - Atlantic Canada has hosted five Canadian Championships since 2001.

The event would be not be made possible without the generous support of local and provincial partners and sponsors: Cycling Canada, City of Dieppe, Province of New Brunswick, Velo NB, MacDonald Buick Cadillac GMC, Subway Restaurants, Mike’s Bike Shop, Fitworks, Palais Crystal Palace, Coastal Inn, Giant Bicycles, Bell Alliant, Office Interior, Protherapy, and Gatorade G Series. There will also be a daily sponsor for each day of the competition: Amiko control system, Co-Op, Panago, Croissant Soleil, Mosser’s Pub, and Valley Redemption Centre.

Wednesday, September 12 (9am start)
Elite Sprint (M/W)
Elite Team Pursuit (M/W)
Elite Madison (M)

Thursday, September 13 (9am start)
Elite, Junior Omnium I, II, III (M/W) *
Elite Team Sprint (M/W)
Junior Sprint Qualifying (M/W)

Friday, September 14 (9am start)
Elite, Junior Omnium IV, V, VI (M/W) *
Elite Keirin (M/W)
Junior Sprint Finals (M/W)
Cadet Omnium I, II, III (M/W) *

Saturday, September 15 (9am start)
Junior Keirin (M/W)
Junior Team Pursuit (M/W)
Junior Team Sprint Qualifying (M/W)
Cadet Omnium IV, V, VI (M/W) *
Masters Individual Pursuit Qualifying (M/W)
Masters Sprint Qualifying (A, B, C)
Para-cycling Team Sprints (C)

Sunday, September 16 (9am start)
Junior Team Sprint Finals (M/W)
Junior Madison (M)
Masters Individual Pursuit Finals (A, B, C)
Master Sprint Finals (A, B, C)
Para-cycling Time Trail (500m/Kilo (B, C)

Monday, September 17 (9am start)
Masters Scratch (A, B, C)
Masters Time Trials (A, B, C)
Masters Keirin (A, B, C)
Masters Points (A, B, C)
Para-cycling Individual Pursuit (B, C)

* Canadian Championships Titles will be awarded to the winner of: Individual Pursuit, Points, Scratch and Time Trials (500m/1000m) races as part of the Omnium.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.