Canadian Cyclist


October 21/12 13:48 pm - Japan Cup: Basso wins, Meier 5th

Posted by Editoress on 10/21/12

The team's hopes and dreams on the eve of the race came true: Liquigas-Cannondale has won the final race of the season, the Japan Cup, thanks to an incredible performance by Ivan Basso. This was the best possible end to Liquigas' adventure: the Italian company is bidding a fond farewell to cycling after eight years.

Basso sealed the green and blue team's season with win number 38 by out-powering Martin and Majka in the final three-man sprint. The decisive move came with 20 km to go and was followed by another attack on the final climb 3 km from the finish; this meant the peloton, which was superbly controlled by his teammates, had no chance of bridging across to the Italian.

«We really wanted this win and it's quite emotional. The entire team wanted to honour this race as it was a very significant one for us. It's a way of thanking Liquigas for the commitment and passion that they brought to cycling. On a personal note, coming back to Japan four years after I started with Liquigas and winning on the day they say adieu to cycling is something very special that I can't put into words. We had a great win today; I might have crossed the line first but it was only thanks to the brilliant work by all my teammates. We're all really happy: the people have been very welcoming which is fantastic and today is a day for everyone to celebrate. »

Ivan Basso's victory is also the first time a Cannondale team has won the Japan Cup.

Liquigas-Cannondale press release

Canada's Christian Meier (ORICA-GreenEDGE) finished 5th, 46 seconds behind Basso

Results from the Japan Cup Road Race

Utsunomiya, 151.3 km
1 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 4:01:58
2 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Sharp
3 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank
4 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Team Nippo all s.t.
5 Christian Meier (Can) ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:46
6 Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 0:59
7 Simon Clarke (Aus) ORICA-GreenEDGE s.t.
8 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Garmin-Sharp 1:38
9 Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing s.t.
10 Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin-Sharp 1:39
11 Masahiro Shinagawa (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
12 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
13 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
14 Tomoyuki Iino (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen
15 Francois Parisien (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10
16 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) ORICA-GreenEDGE
17 Jaroslaw Marycz (Pol) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank all s.t.
18 Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen 1:41
19 Mark O'Brien (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts
20 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Shimano Racing
21 Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen all s.t.
22 Brian Vandborg (Den) SpiderTech powered by C10 1:45
23 Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 6:03
24 Ryoma Nonaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing s.t.
25 Luis Enrique Davila (Mex) Jelly Belly Racing 6:07
26 Alex Hagman (USA) Jelly Belly Racing 6:09
27 Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing s.t.
28 Ryan Roth (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10 6:11
29 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank
30 Nic Hamlton (Can) Jelly Belly Racing both s.t.
31 Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 6:15
32 Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor 9:09
33 Ryohei Komori (Jpn) Team Nippo 9:09
34 Ki Seok Lee (Kor) Korean National Team 10:08
35 Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen
36 Makoto Nakamura (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen
37 Yasuharu Nakajima (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
38 Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Shimano Racing all s.t.
39 Michael Cupitt (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts 12:44
DNF Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) ORICA-GreenEDGE
DNF Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale
DNF Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank
DNF Kenji Itami (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
DNF Hayato Yoshida (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
DNF Kenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
DNF Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Team Nippo
DNF Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) MTR
DNF Sam Witmitz (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts
DNF Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) TSG
DNF Julian Dean (Nzl) ORICA-GreenEDGE
DNF Junya Sano (Jpn) Team Nippo
DNF Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank
DNF Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Ryan Anderson (Can) SpiderTech powered by C10
DNF Charles Bradley Huff (Usa) Jelly Belly Racing
DNF Hideto Nakane (Jpn) Team Nippo
DNF Keisuke Nakao (Jpn) Japan National Team
DNF Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Japan National Team
DNF Joon-Wo Kim (Kor) Korean National Team
DNF Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale
DNF Thomas Scully (Nzl) Garmin-Sharp
DNF Wataru Mutsumine (Jpn) Japan National Team
DNF Sung-Ho Lee (Kor) Korean National Team
DNF Luke Ockerby (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts
DNF Luke Davison (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts
DNF Sang-Hong Park (Kor) Korean National Team
DNF Sang-Hong Park (Kor) Korean National Team
DNF Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.