Canadian Cyclist


November 11/12 16:10 pm - USGP Derby Cup: Day 2 men's results

Posted by Editoress on 11/11/12

Once again sunny skies and unseasonably warm temperatures greeted riders again for day two of the Trek US Grand Prix of Cyclocross presented by Greenware® and WD-40 Bike. All eyes were on Louisville, Kentucky as Eva Bandman Park played host to the third stop on the USGP circuit, offering a preview of the exciting course that awaits the worlds best as the Cyclocross World Championships roll into Louisville in February.

Series leader Jeremy Powers once again asserted his dominance in Louisville, powering away from the field to win solo after separating away from a group that included Cannondale's Tim Johnson and the Belgian Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement).

A lead group of seven riders quickly emerged, and would grow to twelve within the first two laps as Brian Matter (RACC-Geargrinder) drove the chase, towing the chase group that included U23 race leader Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus) up with him to eventually make contact. U23 series leaders Yannick Eckmann (Cal-Giant/Specialized) dangled off the back, working to defend his series leader's jersey.

Just as the catch was made, Ryan Trebon ( went on the attack, with only Berden and Powers able to respond. The three would trade blows for several laps, until Powers made the definitive move, pulling away inside of two laps to go, leaving his breakaway companions behind.

As Powers moved solo off the front, Johnson made an incredible move out of the chase to bridge up to the struggling Trebon and and Berden. The three would briefly ride together until Berden put in a dig with only Johnson able to respond, as Trebon faded to fourth.

Powers soloed to victory, Berden and Johnson hit the stretch of pavement leading to the finish, setting up an exciting sprint to sort out the final two spots on the podium. Berden was first to hit the tarmac, with Johnson unable to respond to the surge, having to settle for third Berden would stand second on the podium. McDonald finished as the top U23, sharing the podium with Eckmann in second and Russ Finsterwald (Trek Cyclocross Collective) in third. Eckmann's second place finish was good enough to hold on to the series leader's jersey, with Powers widening his lead in the Elite field heading into the final stop of the series in Bend, Oregon.


Full results from today's USGP Derby Cup, in Louisville Kentucky

Elite Men, 24.12km, 9 laps 55:12
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-FOCUS 55:33
2 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh Clement 55:34
3 Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale/ 55:53
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale/ 56:06
5 James Driscoll (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home 56:14
6 Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha-Focus 56:16
7 Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg 56:20
8 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-FOCUS 56:20
9 Brian Matter (USA) RACC pb GG 56:21
10 Daniel Summerhill (USA) Chipotle Development Team 57:05
11 Adam Craig (USA) Giant Rabobank Team 57:17
12 Allen Krughoff (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport 57:34
13 Yannick Eckmann (Ger) California Ginat/Specialized 57:38
14 Justin Lindine (USA) Redline 58:06
15 Russell Finsterwald (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 58:10
16 Matt Shriver (USA) 58:14
17 Evan McNeely (Can) Specialized Canada 58:29
18 Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona Bicycles 58:40
19 Dan Timmerman (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs 58:45
20 Chris Jackson (USA) Castex Racing p/b Felt 58:48
21 Jeremy Durrin (USA) JAM Fund / NCC / Vittoria 58:51
22 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) 59:04
23 Andrew Dillman (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross 59:08
24 Isaac Neff (USA) 59:11
25 Adam Morka (Can) Trek Canada 59:13
26 Sean Babcock (USA) Kona 59:13
27 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 59:25
28 Alexander Candelario (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 59:27
29 Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop/Mountain Khakis 59:29
30 Greg Wittwer (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team 59:30
31 Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized 59:57
32 Giancarlo Dalle Angelini (USA) Don Walker Cycles Racing 1:00:01
33 Kevin Fish (USA) KCCX/Fuji pb Challenge Tires 1:00:01
34 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 1:00:17
35 Chase Dickens (USA) American Classic Pro 1:00:29
36 Skyler Trujillo (USA) Niner/Stans/Erogn 1:00:39
37 Zane Goby (USA) Cliff Bar Jr Development 1:00:45
38 Joseph Schmalz (USA) Source Endurance 1:00:48
39 Braden Kappius (USA) Clif Bar Development Cross Team 1:00:50
40 Luke Haley (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team 1:00:51
41 Andy Reardon (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team 1:00:52
42 Kerry Werner Jr (USA) USA BMC U23 Development Team 1:01:02
43 Mike Anderson (USA) Bissell ABG/Nuvo 1:01:08
44 Jason Siegle (USA) SDG/Felt 1:01:26
45 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar 1:01:26
46 Jeffrey Bahnson (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team 1:02:23
47 Ryan Knapp (USA) Pony Shop Cyclocross -1 Lap
48 Sven Baumann (Ger) Wolverine Sports Club -2 Laps
49 Joseph Welsh (USA) Mock Orange Bikes -2 Laps
50 Lewis Gaffney (USA) Team FITaos -2 Laps
51 Mitchell Kersting (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team -2 Laps
52 Jason Monk (USA) Team WHAYNE -2 Laps
53 Eric Thompson (USA) Plan C p/b Challenge Tires -2 Laps
54 Matthew Allen (USA) Behind Bars / Littleguy Racing -2 Laps
55 Richard Cypress Gorry (USA) Whole Athlete-Specialized -2 Laps
56 Chad Tieman (USA) Team Upland p/b Sustainable Cycling -2 Laps
57 Daniel Gerow (USA) Wolverine Racing -2 Laps
58 Christopher Cruise Bogedin (USA) Wolverine Elite Cyclocross Team -2 Laps
59 Bill Street (USA) Kuhl/ Velocity Wheels/BH -2 Laps
60 Ray Smith (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team -3 Laps
61 Josh Johnson (USA) BissellABG Nuvo -3 Laps
62 Justin Crawford (USA) Veloshine Cycling Team -4 Laps
63 Johnathan Freter (USA) Don Walker Cycles -4 Laps
64 Jeremiah Gantzer (USA) p/b DICE -6 Laps
65 James Billiter (USA) BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing -6 Laps
66 Daniel Chabanov (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs -6 Laps
67 Mike Sherer (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg -7 Laps
68 Mark Parmelee (USA) Cycletherapy / Specialized Racing
DNF Travis Livermon (USA) Mock Orange Racing
DNF Mitchell Hoke (USA) Team Clif Bar
DNF Zeb King (USA) MOB p/b Ridley
DNS Bradley White (USA) Moms in Tow Cyclocross
DNS Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg
DNS Jacob Lasley (USA) Team Soundpony
DNS Trevor Walz (USA) Honey Stinger/Bontrager
DNS David Reyes (USA) SRAM Factory
DNS Anthony Viton (USA) BSM Cycling
DNS Brad Cole (USA) KCCX Fuji Elite Cyclocross Team
DNS Jesse Rients (USA)


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Object of class PDO could not be converted to string in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ Stack trace: #0 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getrelatedgallery() #1 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getDailyNewsArticle() #2 {main} thrown in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ on line 528