Canadian Cyclist


May 14/00 7:45 am - l'Aude, Alberta Results, l'Oise

Posted by Editor on 05/14/00

Tour de l'Aude, France

Canadian national team member Leigh Hobson sends in her daily report for Saturday, May 13th.

Day 9

When I saw the profile for today's stage, 106km of descending, I thought of all those moutain top finishes and how it seemed to be a fair thing to do. Getting to the front of the peloton becomes the main priority on everyone's mind -- gaps are so easily formed on descents, and closing them can be very dangerous!

We started the race with a steep 2km climb. Hanka Kupfernagel decided to attack from the gun! What a shock to the system!! Sprinting up a climb at altitude at the beginning of a race definitely wakes up a peloton! A group of 8 riders (including Sandy Espeseth) got a gap and kept the pressure on, until the chase group caught them 10km into the race.

It was then that the attacks really started to happen! According to some, Hanka violated one of the many unwritten rules of race etiquette -- having the yellow jersey by over 4 minutes and still trying to shatter the peloton in the first 2km of the race. I'm not sure who writes the rules, but there's definitely retaliation if they're broken! Some tried to ride Hanka into the ditch, others blocked her as attacks were fired over and over. Finally, Ina Teutenberg and Anna Wilson got away. From then on, Hanka's team and the Belgians kept tempo for the rest of the race to ensure the gap didn't get too large.

The race ended with Ina taking the sprint and Anna taking second. A peloton of 45 riders crossed the line 3 minutes and 57 seconds later.

Stage Results:

1st Ina Teutenberg (GER) 2h 17' 56"
2nd Anna Wilson (SAT) st
3rd Petra Rossner (SAT) 3' 57"
4th Magali Le Floc'h (FRA) 3' 58"
5th S. Samokhvalova (RUS) st
6th Tania Velvederesi (MAS) st
7th Vera Holfeld (GER) st
8th Heidi Van De Vijver (BEL) st
9th J. Polikevichiute (LUT) st
10th Chantal Beltman (NED) st

Other Canadians:

16th Leigh Hobson st
29th Cybil DiGuistini st
35th Sandy Espeseth 4' 05
41st Clara Hughes 4' 08"
47th Lyne Bessette st

Overall GC:
1st Hanka Kupfernagel (GER)
2nd Mirjam Melchers (NED) 4' 10"
3rd Geraldine Loewenguth (FRA) 4' 44"
4th Heidi Van De Vijver (BEL) 5' 33"
5th Tatiana Stiajkina (UKR) 6' 57"
6th Anna Wilson (SAT) 7' 47"
7th Juanita Feldhahn (AUS) 12' 56"
8th Madeleine Lindberg (FAR) 13' 30"
9th Cindy Pieters (VLA) 13' 47"
10th LYNE BESSETTE (SAT) 14' 20"

Other Canadians:

14th Sandy Espeseth 16' 14"
17th Cybil DiGuistini 18' 23"
22nd Leigh Hobson 20' 06"
35th Clara Hughes 32' 47"


Yellow: Hanka Kupfernagel (GER)
Points: Ina Teutenberg (GER)
Mountain: Tatiana Stiajkina (UKR)
Sprints: Arenda Grimberg (NED)
Young Rider: Tania Belvederesi (MAS)

Overall Team Standings:

1st France
2nd Netherlands
3rd Saturn
4th Radteam Kupfernagel
5th Canada/Australia
6th Vlaanderen 2002 Lady's Team
7th Ukraine
8th Farm Frites/Timex
9th Russia
10th Germany
11th Lithuania
12th Master Team Carpe Diem

ABA DH#1 Results - Alberta
(courtesy Greg Flaaten)

Canada Olympic Park DH2 Downhill Race, May 13, 2000

Senior Elite Men
1. Chris Benny 2:06.34
2. John Teghtmeyer 2:09.52
3. Shawn Lee 2:14:49

Senior Expert Men
1. Mark Wolstenholme 2:13.04
2. Cory Lemessurier 2:14.79
3. Jason Jacobs 2:14.95

Master Expert Men 30-39
1. Jeff Ingram 2:15.13
2. Greg Flaaten 2:22.72
3. Cliff Wessel 2:31.55

Master Expert Men 40-49
1. Tim Smith 2:45.67

Senior Sport Men
1. Joel Stiles 2:10.23
2. Demian Carson 2.12.28
3. Harlan Wolfram 2:15.03

Senior Beginner Men
1. Mark Rosenberger 2:15.64
2. Allan Grabas 2:20.82
3. Aaron Mohl 2:29.95

Junior Sport Men
1. Marc Walton 2:15.64
2. Mark Stanley 2:29.62
3. Jared Rink 2:30.41

Under 17 Sport
1. Connor Cripps 2:24.48
2. Jason Dibbs 2:33.95
3. Ryan Dick 2:38.53

1. Heather Armitage 2:39.42
2. Cheryl Beattie 2:52.79
3. Shelly Dolezsar 3:00.92
4. Carmen Luu 3:08.07
5. Alexandra Messinis 3:13.83
6. Cheryl Roberts 3:46.37
7. Madelaine Bouz 3:50.76

Tour de l'Oise, France

Stage 2 - Crecy-en-Ponthieu to Soissons 204 km

1. Michael Sandstod (Den) Memorycard-Jack & Jones 4.57.39
2. Martin Rittsel (Swe) Memorycard-Jack & Jones at 0:02
3. Jorgen Bo Petersen (Den) Ville Charleroi-New Systems 0:05
4. Saulius Ruskys (Lit) Saint-Quentin-Oktos 0:06
5. Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
6. Christopher Jenner (NZL) Credit Agricole
7. Erwin Thijs (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002-Eddy Merckx
8. Unai Etxebarria (Ven) Euskaltel-Euskadi
9. Gorka Gerrikagoitia (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi
10. Torsten Schmidt (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner all s.t.


1. Michael Sandstod (Den) Memorycard-Jack & Jones 8:26:16
2. Martin Rittsel (Swe) Memorycard-Jack & Jones at 0:08
3. Jorgen Bo Petersen (Den) Ville Charleroi-New Systems 0:13
4. Arvis Piziks (Lat) Memorycard-Jack & Jones 0:16
5. Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour s.t.
6. Christopher Jenner (NZL) Credit Agricole 0:17
7. Saulius Ruskys (Lit) Saint-Quentin-Oktos 0:18
8. Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
9. Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
10. Unai Etxebarria (Ven) Euskaltel-Euskadi all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.