Canadian Cyclist


May 14/00 6:47 am - l'Aude Final, Lake2Lake Results, Fraser Wins, Giro

Posted by Editor on 05/14/00

Tour de l'Aude, France

Team Canada member Leigh Hobson has been filing daily reports on the Tour de l'Aude. Here is her final report. Congratulations to Leigh and all the other Canadian riders for their excellent results in this incredibly hard race.

Typically the hardest day of the Tour, this year was no exception! One hundred and 36 km with three sprint spots and four mountain sprints! The race began in Limoux with various attacks going from the first mountain sprint onward. Clara Hughes, in her incredibly courageous style took off solo after 20km. Attempts were made by Team Canada to bridge up to Clara, but it appeared as if the peloton preferred her alone. For 116km, Clara time trialed, increasing her lead up to 9 minutes at one point!!! With 20km to go, the French team kept a very steady tempo, to inhibit attacks for the finish. The peloton finished 4 minutes and 37 seconds behind Clara, with fellow Saturn rider Petra Rossner taking second!

And so closes the 16th annual Tour de L'Aude. A total of 956km, over 26 hours, and 55 finishers from a start list of 87. Congratulations to Cybil DiGuistini for taking home the overall title of Leading Young Rider, and to all the members of Team Canada who participated in this very challenging tour! Finally, a big thank you to our staff, Yuri Kashirin, Christain Pezard, and Azier Hesus!!!!!!!!!

Stage Results:
1st CLARA HUGHES (SAT) 3h 49' 49"
2nd Petra Rossner (SAT) at 4' 37"
3rd Mirjam Melchers (NED) st
4th Vera Holdfeld (GER) st
5th S. Samokhvalova (RUS) st
6th Tatiana Stiajkina (UKR) st
7th S.Bobnenkova (RUS) st
8th Arenda Grimberg (NED) st
9th Heidi Van De Vijver (BEL) st
10th Yuliya Murenka (UKR) st

Other Canadians:

23rd Leigh Hobson st
31st Cybil DiGuistini 4' 47"
34th Sandy Espeseth st
36th Lyne Bessette st

Overall GC:

1st Hanka Kupfernagel (GER) 26h 43' 55"
2nd Mirjam Melchers (NED) at4' 06"
3rd Geraldine Loewenguth (FRA) 4' 44"
4th Heidi Van De Vijver (BEL) 5' 33"
5th Tatiana Stiajkina (UKR) 6' 57"
6th Anna Wilson (SAT) 7' 47"
7th Juanita Feldhahn (AUS) 12' 56"
8th Madeleine Lindberg (FAR) 13' 30"
9th Cindy Pieters (VLA) 13' 47"
10th LYNE BESSETTE (SAT) 14' 20"

Other Canadians:

14th Sandy Espeseth 16' 24"
17th Cybil DiGuistini 18' 33"
22nd Leigh Hobson 20' 06"
29th Clara Hughes 28' 00"

FINAL Jerseys:

Yellow: Hanka Kupfernagel (GER)
Points: Ina Teutenberg (GER)
Mountain: Tatiana Stiajkina (UKR)
Sprints: Arenda Grimberg (NED)

FINAL Team Standings:

1st France
2nd Netherlands
3rd Saturn
4th Radteam Kupfernagel
6th Vlaanderen 2002 Lady's Team
7th Ukraine
8th Farm Frites/Timex
9th Russia
10th Germany
11th Lithuania
12th Master Team Carpe Diem

Lake2Lake Results - Ontario
(courtesy Tim Lefebvre)

May 13th 50 km

1) Andrew Pinfold 1:47:23
2) Buck Miller 1:51:54
3) John Harris 1:51:56
4) Eric Stock 1:55:53
5) Paul Skafel 1:55:56
6) Simon Small
7) Stuart Green
8) Mark Adams
9) Paul Phillips
10) Dan Ayotte
11) Henry Hubert
12) Shawn Bernard
13) Ivan Sverko
14) Toine Vanderknap
15) Orlin Clarkson
16) Justion Hines
17) Steve Montgomery
18) David Scheenmaker
19) Robert Hiscock
20) Wes Stephenson
21) Peter Hodge
22) Paul Harapiak
23) Greg Thornton
24) Dave Bell
25) Mark Pozniak

Top 3 Women
1) Cindy Kaczamarek 2:42:53
2) Vicki Hewitt 2:45:37
3) Sophie Mair 3:03:19

Men 18 and under
1) Buck Miller
2) Mark Pozniak
3) Jamie Sutherland

Men 20-29
1) Andrew Pinfold
2) Eric Stock
3) Paul Skafel

Men 30-39
1) John Harris
2) Stuart Green
3) Mark Adams

Men 40-49
1) Paul Phillips
2) Henry Hubert
3) Orlin Clarkson

Men 50-59
1) Lee Norton
2) Barry Murphy
3) Rick Blewett

Men 60+
1) Peter Leyser

Women 20-29
1) Vicki Hewitt
2) Ingrid Parn
3) Diane Waterman

Women 30-39
1) Cindy Kaczmarek
2) Sophie Mair
3) Tanya Rogalsky

Fraser Wins in Houston
(courtesy Mecury)

The Mercury Cycling Team has won the BMC Houston Classic with Gord Fraser taking the Victory.

The weather was cool, but the Mercury was hot as Fraser has now won 2 of the 4 BMC series which is worth $250,000 if he can pull off the remaining 2 races. The race was the same as last year - flat and fast. The 90 mile event saw Mercury's Will Frischkorn take off with a member of the Mexican National team and stay away for about 60 miles.

The real racing started at that point as Shaklee looked to end the Mercury run. The 2 teams battled for the train. In the end it was the Mercury Express with Derek Bouchard-Hall taking the last turn and delivering Fraser to the line.

The next stop on for the Mercury BMC express will be San Jose on June 24.


1. Gord Fraser CAN Mercury
2. Graeme Miller NZL Shaklee
3. Dave McCook USA Shaklee

1. Nicole Reinhart USA Saturn
2. Tina Mayolo USA
3. Sarah Ulmer NZL Elita

17. Odessa Gunn CAN Timex Women's Pro Cycling Team

Giro Stage 1

Stage 1 - Rome to Terracina 125 km

1 Ivan Quaranta (Ita) Mobilvetta Design-Rossin 2:46:46
2 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
3 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
4 Silvio Martinello (Ita) Team Polti
5 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco-Valli & Valli
6 Robbie Mcewen (Aus) Farm Frites
7 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) Team Polti
8 Tayeb Braikia (Den) Linda McCartney Racing Team
9 Moreno Di Biase (Ita) Cantina Tollo
10 Luca Cei (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Gaerne
11 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux
12 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Amica Chips-Tacconi Sport
13 Yvon Ledanois (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
14 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
15 Enrico Degano (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Gaerne
16 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Rabobank
17 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) La Francaise Des Jeux
18 Andris Nauduzs (Lat) Aguardiente Nectar-Selle Italia
19 Jose E. Gutierrez Cataluna (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca
20 Milan Kadlec (Cze) Mobilvetta Design-Rossin

22 Guido Trenti (USA) Cantina Tollo
37 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Albacom
105 Chann McRae (USA) Mapei-Quick Step
145 Justin W. Spinelli (USA) Farm Frites all s.t.


1 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco-Valli & Valli 2:52:22
2 Jan Hruska (Cze) Vitalicio Seguros at 0:02
3 Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Saeco-Valli & Valli s.t.
4 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux 0:06
5 Jose Luis Rubiera Vigil (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 0:08
6 Jose E. Gutierrez Cataluna (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca s.t.
7 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin 0:09
8 Mirko Gualdi (Ita) Mobilvetta Design-Rossin
9 Juan Carlo Dominguez (Esp) Vitalicio Seguros both s.t.
10 Servais Knaven (Ned) Farm Frites 0:10
11 Denis Zanette (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
12 Marco Velo (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Albacom
13 Ivan Quaranta (Ita) Mobilvetta Design-Rossin
14 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) La Francaise Des Jeux all s.t.
15 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata 0:11
16 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
17 Chann McRae (USA) Mapei-Quick Step both s.t.
18 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0:12
19 Serhiy Honchar (Ukr) Liquigas-Pata s.t.
20 Alvar Gonzalez Galdeano Aranz. (Esp) Vitalicio Seguros 0:13

125 Guido Trenti (USA) Cantina Tollo 0:30
161 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Albacom 0:42
165 Justin W. Spinelli (USA) Farm Frites 0:47

Bastion Square Reminder

Don't forget - advance (ie, cheaper) registration for the Bastion Square Cycling Festival closes at 8:00 pm EDT (5:00 pm Pacific) tomorrow - May 15th.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.