Canadian Cyclist


February 6/13 11:31 am - UCI BMX Supercross World Cup in Abbotsford Cancelled

Posted by Editor on 02/6/13

The International Cycling Union (UCI) and Global SX Events Inc. regretfully announce that the fourth leg of the 2013 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup, scheduled for September 6-7 in Abbotsford, BC, has been cancelled.

After successfully hosting the final round of the 2012 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup, local Abbotsford organiser, Cycling BC has been forced to pull out of the 2013 series due to internal structural and financial complications.  [Editor's Note:  The event lost a reported $250,000 , which has put Cycling BC in financial difficulty]

"We are unable to support a BMX Supercross World Cup at this time," said Cycling BC in a statement. "Investment in the development of the sport is important to Cycling BC but the financial situation and recent changes at the board and staff levels have forced us focus all efforts on bringing back the organization to a healthy state."

Global SX Events, which oversees the general management of the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup, described the situation as "unfortunate".  CEO Johan Lindstrom continued: "Cycling BC delivered a great event in 2012 and all participants and teams had a great time. It was certainly not the biggest race on the World Cup circuit, but the event had a lot of potential to become a classic. So hopefully we can return to British Colombia in the near future".

Several options for a replacement venue were investigated by the UCI and GSX. However, with the season already looming, it was decided not to replace the Abbotsford event, as any further delays would impact the preparations of teams and athletes.

The revised 2013 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup calendar:

April 19-20:  Manchester, Great Britain
May 10-11:  Santiago Del Estero, Argentina
June 15-16:  Papendal, Netherlands
September 27-28:  Chula Vista CA, USA


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.