Canadian Cyclist


February 8/13 10:30 am - Pan Am Track Champs: Day 2 results

Posted by Editoress on 02/8/13

Hugo Barrette of Cap aux Meules, QC provided the highlight performance for the Canadian team on the second day of competition at the Pan American track championships in Mexico City, Thursday.

Barrette rode from the front to win his opening round heat in the men’s Keirin competition during the morning session. With an average speed of more than 71 km/h over the last 200m, the heat was the fastest of the competition.

In the Second Round later that afternoon, Barrette was the innocent victim when one of his competitors made a sudden move up the track with just under three laps to go, sending him tumbling. The race wasn’t stopped and Barrette missed out on the medal final, leaving him to contest the 7-12 final, which he won in a come-from-behind ride.

“It’s my best-ever result at the championships, so I’m happy with that,” a scraped and bruised Barrette said after the race.

Also competing Thursday were Rémi Pelletier-Roy of Québec, QC in the men’s IndividualPursuit and Candice Vermeulen, Alison Beveridge and Kirsti Lay in the women’s Team Pursuit. But with several team members suffering from illness, neither made it to the medal rounds. Pelletier-Roy was 11th and the women’s team was sixth.


Results from the second day (Thursday) of racing at the Pan Am Track Championships in Mexico


Day 1


Men Scratch Race
1 Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Argentina)
2 Jan Carlos Arias Perez (Cuba)
3 Máximo Rojas (Venezuela)
4 Darren Matthews (Barbados)
5 José Alberto Covarrubias (Mexico)
6 Diego Jonathan Yepez Arellano
7 William David Muñoz (Colombia)
8 Mauro Abel Richeze (Argentina)
9 Christian Amilcar Quicibal Estrada (Guatemala)
10 Varun Maharajh (Trinidad & Tobago)
11 Rodolfo Villalobos (Costa Rica)
12 Eduardo E. Colon Ortiz (Puerto Rico)
13 Armando Reis Dacosta Camargo Filho (Brazil)
14 Robson Ribeiro Dias (Brazil)
15 Joaquin Maximiliano Coñuen Banda (Chile)
16 Ramon L. Martin Alvarez (Cuba)
17 Richard Ochoa Quintero (Venezuela)
DNF Brandon Zavala Borges (Puerto Rico)
DNF Pablo Matias Reyes Ramos (Chile)
DNF Jordan Parra (Colombia)
DNF Julio Padilla Miranda (Guatemala)
DNF José Chacón (Costa Rica)


Women Team Sprint
1 Colombia (Juliana Gaviria Rendon/Martha Bayona Pineda) 34.235
2 Cuba (Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez/Laura Arias Rivas) 34.525
3 Venezuela (Marynes Chiquinquira Prada Rodriguez/Gleidimar Tapia) 34.253
4 United States of America (Missy Erickson/Madalyn Godby) 34.364


Men Individual Pursuit
1 Eduardo Sepulveda (Argentina)
2 Mauro Andres Agostini (Argentina) caught
3 Jhonatan Restrepo (Colombia) 4:24.465
4 Edibaldo Maldonado Rayas (Mexico) 4:29.529
5 Juan Sebastián (Colombia) 4:27.738
6 Daniel Badilla (Mexico) 4:28.887
7 Pablo Jacob Seisdedos (Chile) 4:29.663
8 Thiago Duarte (Brazil) 4:30.099
9 Pedro Sibila (Cuba) 4:32.090
10 José Antonio Ramos (Venezuela) 4:35.833
11 Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Canada) 4:35.850
12 Isaac Yaguaro (Venezuela) 4:36.281
13 Manuel Oseas Rodas (Guatemala) 4:36.434
14 Gideoni Redrigues (Brazil) 4:36.603
15 Christian Amilc Quicibal (Guatemala) 4:38.728
16 Enzo Bruno Cesario Farías (Chile) 4:44.080
17 Rodolfo Villalobos (Costa Rica) 4:48.429
18 Varun Maharajh (Trinidad and Tobago) 4:50.369
19 Alejandro Díaz (Cuba) 4:54.443


Women Team Pursuit
1 Cuba (Yudelmis Dominguez Masague/Marlies Mejias Garcia/Arlenis Sierra Canadillas) 3:23.401
2 Colombia (Maria Luisa Calle Williams/Serika Guluma Ortiz/Jannie Milena Salcedo) 3:23.743
3 Venezuela (Jennifer Cesar/Angie Sabrina Gonzales/Daniely García ) 3:25.887
4 United States of America (Lauren Tamayo/Elizabeth Newell/Ruth Winder) 3:27.979
5 Mexico (Marcela Prieto/Mayra Del Rocío Rocha/Ana Teresa Casas) 3:34.536
6 Canada (Allison Beveridge/Candice Vermeulen/Kirsti Lay) 3:38.818
7 Argentina (Cristina Greve/Alejandra Feszczuk/Mariela Delgado) 3:44.661


Men Keirin
1 Fabian Hernando Puerta Zapata (Colombia)
2 Santiago Ramirez Morales (Colombia)
3 Leandro Hernan Bottasso (Argentina)
4 Hersony Canelón (Venezuela)
5 Matthew Baranoski (United States of America)
6 Alejandro Mainat Reyes (Cuba)
7 Hugo Barrette (Canada)
8 Edgar Ismael Verdugo (Mexico)
9 Iván Delis (Cuba)
10 Flavio Wagner (Brazil)
11 Kevin Mansker (Unites States of America)
13 Rene Magaña (El Salvador)
13 Marco Guillén (Costa Rica)
13 Jeison Felipe Pastrian (Chile)
13 Jonathan Matías Gatto (Argentina)
13 Alberto Rafael Ramos (Dominican Republic)
13 Marvin Quesada (Costa Rica)
13 Luis Hernán Velásquez (Chile)
20 Kacio Fonseca Da Silva (Brazil)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.