Canadian Cyclist


February 20/13 11:59 am - The Frostbike Kicks Off the 2013 Race Season - Ontario

Posted by Editoress on 02/20/13

The ShortHills Cycling Club kicked off the 2013 Mountain Bike Racing Season with their Fourth Annual Frostbike - Winter Mountain Bike Race held on February 17th.

The overnight deep freeze and snow fall allowed the race course to stay firm throughout the day and lead to some fast conditions, despite the ice and snow covered trails. Participants were not fazed by Mother Nature’s bitter North wind and temperatures of -11 degrees C at start time as fun was had by all. Spiked tires or Fat bikes were definitely the weapons of choice for race day.

Andrew De Cal showed why he's the boss on these trails, winning his fourth consecutive Frostbike with a time of 32:54 on the 10.5 kilometre course. The Queen of Snow, Linda Shin, won her second consecutive crown on the female side with a time of 41:58. Congratulations to both of them.

This unique event is run with a modified time trial format where racers are given two opportunities at their best lap. The catch ... all racers start in self-seeding mini-waves of five to six people. This allows them to not only challenge for the best overall lap time but to race head to head against their friends for what really matters - bragging rights.

The ShortHills Cycling Club would like to thank the Event Sponsors:

The City of Port Colborne, Clif Bar, Schwalbe Tires North America, Road ID, Wellington Brewery, The Smokin’ Buddha, Liberty Bicycles, Pedal Bicycle Shop, Grease Monkey Wipes, eLoad Sports Nutrition, Boggio’s Pharmacy and our hosts, The City Tavern. As well as our volunteers and all 100 riders who came out to support this sold out event.

Top Five Men
Andrew De Cal - 32:53
JC Roberge - 34:30
John Cauchi - 35:24
AJ Kendrick - 35:44
Scott Philips - 36:12

Top Five Women
Linda Shin - 41:58
Bonnie Symes - 43:30
Tanya Hanham - 43:56
Catrina Cauchi - 46:11
Jennifer Wolfe - 49:32

Full Results

Event Photos


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.