Canadian Cyclist


March 2/13 12:28 pm - Strade Bianche results

Posted by Editoress on 03/2/13

Racing through the Tuscan hills from Gaiole in Chianti to the race finish in stunning, historic Siena, Moreno Moser became today the first Italian to win the Strade Bianche, succeeding Fabian Cancellara.




17.4 kilometres from the finish line, the young Cannondale rider darted out of the group of favourites  joining the early breakaway riders, before Cancellara led a small group that included Sagan, Nocentini, Kolobnev, Reda and Caruso close to Moser’s group.
Before the junction was made, Moser attacked alone, holding off the chasers to take the win. His team-mate Peter Sagan took second place.

After the race, Moser, still just 22 (born Christmas Day 1990), spoke to the press.

The decisive attack: “My attack was instinctive. In races like this, isn’t time or space for too many tactics. I saw the pace relent for a moment and attacked. Sagan was the rider everyone had to watch, and I exploited that.”

The final kilometres: “In the final kilometres I had to risk losing. None of the riders ahead of me would give me any help. They were probably right. When I saw the group arrive from behind, I was afraid, but I didn’t panic. I should also say that I kept cool because I knew that Peter [ Sagan], of those behind me, would certainly have won the race. So it was about the team today.”

Strade Bianche: “I’ve always thought this race suited me. Even in the youth categories, I saw that, when the racing became individual, I was always competitive. In this sense I can say I resemble my uncle Francesco [Moser, the 1977 World Champion and Classics great].”

Race programme: “I’m focused on the second series of Belgium classics… I’ll ride Tirreno-Adriatico and Milan-Sanremo, thinking of Flèche and Liège.”


Results from today's Strade Bianche in Italy

Gaiole in Chianti to Siena, 188 km
1 Moreno Moser (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling 5:01:53
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling at 0:06
3 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale 0:07
4 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) RadioShack Leopard
5 Aleksejs Saramotins (Lat) IAM Cycling
6 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
7 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Katusha
8 Francesco Reda (Ita) Androni Giocattoliall all s.t.
9 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha 0:10
10 Maxim Belkov (Rus) Katusha 0:13
11 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida 0:15
12 Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:17
13 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Esp) Movistar Team s.t.
14 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 0:19  
15 Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team 0:21
16 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Merida s.t.
17 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:23
18 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
19 Sergey Lagutin (Uzb) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team both s.t.
20 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:27
21 Michael Schar (Sui) BMC Racing Team 0:31
22 Matthias Brändle (Aut) IAM Cycling s.t.
23 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:44
24 Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 1:34
25 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha 1:39
26 Sébastien Reichenbach (Sui) IAM Cycling
27 Francois Parisien (Can) Team Argos-Shimano both s.t.
28 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 1:43
29 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
30 Lars Petter Nordhaug NO Blanco Pro Cycling Team
31 Fredrik Kessiakoff SW Astana Pro Team all s.t.
32 Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Esp) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 1:58
33 Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 2:48
34 Kristjan Koren (Slo) Cannondale Pro Cycling
35 Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
36 Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Crelan-Euphony
37 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Esp) Movistar Team
38 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
39 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
40 Thomas Rohregger (Aut) RadioShack Leopard
41 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
42 Thomas Dekker (Ned) Garmin-Sharp
43 Paul Martens (Ger) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
44 Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Esp) Movistar Team all s.t.
45 Elia Favilli (Ita) Lampre-Merida 2:53
46 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 6:20
47 Reto Hollenstein (Sui) IAM Cycling 6:47
48 Rohan Dennis (Aus) Garmin-Sharp 06:51
49 Dominic Klemme (Ger) IAM Cycling 6:56
50 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Astana Pro Team 7:25
51 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling 8:08
52 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Cannondale Pro Cycling s.t.
53 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin-Sharp 11:07
54 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp
55 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
56 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Crelan-Euphony
57 Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
58 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) RadioShack Leopard
59 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team
60 Pirmin Lang (Sui) IAM Cycling
61 Steven Cummings (GBr) BMC Racing Team
62 Brian Vandborg (Den) Cannondale Pro Cycling all s.t.
63 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) RadioShack Leopard 11:20
64 Matthew Busche (USA) RadioShack Leopard 11:48
65 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
66 Marcel Wyss (Sui) IAM Cycling
67 Matteo Di Serafino (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
68 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Merida
69 Aleksandr Kuschynski (Blr) Katusha
70 Pim Ligthart (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
71 Wesley Kreder (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team all s.t.
72 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 11:53
73 Stijn Steels (Bel) Crelan-Euphony 12:02
74 Dmitriy Gruzdev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 12:16
75 Klaas Sys (Bel) Crelan-Euphony 17:33
76 Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox s.t.
77 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) IAM Cycling 17:43
78 Christophe Premont (Bel) Crelan-Euphony 17:46
79 Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox 17:49


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.