Canadian Cyclist


June 16/13 0:00 am - Val di Sole World Cup: Junior Men's XC report and results

Posted by Editoress on 06/16/13

The final event of the cross-country segment of the World Cup in Val di Sole, Italy, took place Sunday morning.  There were two stellar performances - Samuel Gaze (New Zealand) took a convincing win after leading all race, while Canada's Peter Disera (Team Canada) worked his way up from 45th on the start line to finish eighth, two seconds out of seventh and six seconds out of sixth.

Gaze headed to the front on the first climb of the five lap race and quickly rode away from the rest of the field.  A pair of Danish riders took up the initial chase before blowing, and then Gioele Bertolini (Controltech Nevi) came back to join Gaze at the front twith two laps to go.  However, he had shot his bolt doing it, and when Gaze attacked with a lap and a half to go, he could not respond.  Jan Vastl (Ceska Sporitelna Specialized) took third.

Meanwhile, Disera moved into the mid-teens on the first lap and was up to tenth with a lap to go.  On the last lap he managed to pick off two more spots, and was sprinting to catch the two riders in front of him in the final 200 metres, but ran out of track.
"I'm really pleased with this," Disera commented, "it is my first European World Cup.  I started a little slower, because this is a real climbing course, and I didn't want to go too hard too early.  Then, in the final two laps Dan [Proulx - national coach] was yelling at me to give it everything, and I was catching the guys who were blown."



Results from the Junior Men's XC race in Val di Sole, Italy

Junior Men, 21.5 km, (start loop + 5 laps)
1 Samuel Gaze (NZl) New Zealand 1:12:36
2 Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Controltech Nevi at 0:45
3 Jan Vastl (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna Specialized Junior MTB Team 1:25
4 Louis Bendixen (Den) Denmark 1:40
5 Piotr Konwa (Pol) 4F Racing Team 1:58
6 Oleksiy Zavolokin (Ukr) Ukraine 2:29
7 Neilo Perrin Ganier (Fra) Focus/Rotor/Coaching-System.Fr 2:33
8 Peter Disera (Can) Canadian National Team 2:35
9 Romain Boutet (Fra) Creuse Oxygene 3:02
10 Sebastian Carstensen Fini (Den) Denmark 3:12
11 Federico Barri (Ita) Italy 3:48
12 Mathieu Dehaeze (Bel) Versluys Team 4:17
13 Gregor Krajnc (Slo) Calcit Bike Team 4:28
14 Niels Rasmussen (Den) Denmark 4:30
15 Milan Vader (Ned) Netherlands 4:46
16 Felix Ritzinger (Aut) Austria 5:26
17 Arsenty Vavilov (Rus) Russian Federation 5:37
18 Nadir Colledani (Ita) Italy 5:40
19 Jodok Salzmann (Aut) Austria 5:45
20 Iain Paton (GBr) Great Britain 5:47
21 Alessandro Saravalle (Ita) Italy 6:35
22 Alan Hatherly (RSA) South Africa 6:38
23 Martins Blums (Lat) Latvia 6:41
24 Jakob Hartmann (Ger) Germany 7:02
25 Erno McCrae (Bel) Goeman Scott Cycling Team Vzw 7:34
26 Johannes Bläsi (Ger) Germany 7:35
27 Fabian Strittmatter (Sui) Switzerland 7:36
28 Jack Ravenscroft (GBr) Great Britain 7:45
29 Moreno Pellizzon (Ita) Italy 7:52
30 Bram Cools (Bel) Goeman Scott Cycling Team Vzw 8:15
31 Ludek Seller (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna Specialized Junior MTB Team 8:40
32 Sven Strähle (Ger) Germany 8:48
33 Sandro Trevisani (Sui) Team Dom Cycle - Merida 8:52
34 Alessandro Naspi (Ita) Merida Italia Team 8:59
35 Roman Vladykin (Rus) Russian Federation 9:03
36 Michael Spoegler (Ita) Italy 9:04
37 Sergio Gonzalez Porlan (Esp) Wild Wolf Trek Pro Racing 9:09
38 Kamil Malecki (Pol) Poland 9:33
39 Markus Kopfauf (Aut) Austria 9:41
40 Remy Denervaud (Sui) Team Dom Cycle - Merida 9:42
41 Vincent Matz (Fra) France 10:01
42 Lorenzo Dal Piva (Ita) Italy - B 10:23
43 Filip Kubin (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna Specialized Junior MTB Team 10:25
44 Michael Thompson (GBr) Great Britain 10:28
45 Erick Fierro (Ecu) Ecuador 10:36
46 Wiebe Scholten (Ned) Netherlands 10:36
47 Alexandr Gubkin (Rus) Russian Federation 10:37
48 Stefano Bollardini (Ita) Italy - B 11:09
49 Florian Gruber (Aut) Muskelkater Genesis Team 11:23
50 Adrian Siarka (Pol) Poland 11:27
51 Peter Zupancic (Slo) Calcit Bike Team 11:35
52 Stanislav Antonov (Rus) Forward - Udmurtia 11:54
53 Samuel Stean (GBr) Great Britain 12:19
54 Marvin Bovendorp (Ned) Netherlands 12:36
55 Vladyslav Nizitskyi (Ukr) Ukraine 13:02
56 Patryk Adamkiewicz (Pol) Sante-Bsa Tour 13:16
57 Paul Oberrauch (Ita) Italy - B 14:57
58 Lukasz Winiarski (Pol) Poland 15:22
59 Moritz Zoister (Aut) Austria -1 Lap
60 Louw Kriel (RSA) South Africa -1 Lap
61 Billy Harding (GBr) Orange Monkey Pro Team -1 Lap
62 Pavlo Mashchenko (Ukr) Ukraine -1 Lap
63 Artur Raskin (Rus) Russian Federation -1 Lap
64 Marco Pozzo (Ita) Italy - B -2 Laps
65 Maksym Krapivka (Ukr) Ukraine -2 Laps
66 Daniele Koetting (Ita) Titici Lgl International Team -2 Laps
67 Vladislav Mikhailov (Rus) Russian Federation -2 Laps
68 Marton Dina (Hun) Hungary -2 Laps
69 Simone Strazzacappa (Ita) Bi&Esse Carrera -2 Laps
70 Marinus Krug (Ger) Germany -2 Laps
71 Celso Figueira De Mello Filho (Bra) Brazil -2 Laps
72 Lucas Negro (Ita) Titici Lgl International Team -2 Laps
73 Quentin Pacha (Fra) Aix Vtt Thrifty -2 Laps
74 Andrea Dori (Ita) Italy - B -2 Laps
75 Valentin Kiser (Sui) Jb Felt Team -2 Laps
76 Alexander Krasnov (Rus) Russian Federation -2 Laps
77 Aleksandar Roman (Srb) Serbia -2 Laps
78 Simone Tarchini (Ita) Titici Lgl International Team -2 Laps
79 Yoeri Past (Ned) Mbc Bar End -2 Laps
80 Simone Biondani (Ita) Focus XC Italy Team -2 Laps
81 Niccolo Vacchina (Ita) Titici Lgl International Team -2 Laps
DNF Kjell Den Boogert (Ned) Netherlands
DNF Luca Schwarzbauer (Ger) Germany
DNF Davide Pinato (Ita) Italy - B
DNF Kostiantyn Prykhodko (Ukr) Ukraine
DNF Attila Erdelyi (Hun) Hungary
DNF Aleksa Crncevic (Bih) Bosnia-Herzegovnia


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Object of class PDO could not be converted to string in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ Stack trace: #0 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getrelatedgallery() #1 /home/canadiancyclistcom/ getDailyNewsArticle() #2 {main} thrown in /home/canadiancyclistcom/ on line 528