Canadian Cyclist


July 10/13 0:01 am - Mardis cyclistes de Lachine: Week 6 report

Posted by Editoress on 07/10/13

It was Simon Lambert-Lemay (Garneau-Québécor) who sprinted across the finish first this evening at stage six of the Mardis Cyclistes presented by Jean Coutu. For a while it looked like someone might break the all-time speed record in the 36-year series, but Lambert-Lemay finally stopped the clock at 1:00:48 in the 50km bike race. Following him in the bunch sprint was his team mate, Pierrick Naud in second and 2012 defending champion, Jean-François Laroche (Fantino Mondello) in third.

“We [initially] tried for record but then slacked off; we didn’t want to burn ourselves,” explained Lambert-Lemay who finished second the previous Tuesday. “I’m having good season despite less training this year and enjoying it more. It no longer feels like a job. In September, I am starting studies fulltime in osteopathy, but won't stop riding.”

Laroche was only standing in the third spot on the podium, but had by far the biggest smile of the three winners. The lawyer finished ahead of some of Canada’s top professional riders. “At the end I got stuck between two guys and couldn’t move out. But Martin Gilbert [an independent rider and former rival] helped me; we are good friends!”

Laroche, the defending champion, now has climbed to third spot in cumulative points at 483, but admits that it will be difficult for him to win the 10-race series this year. Sitting first is Naud at 581 points followed by Lambert-Lemay at 535.

Some 89 riders were on the start line for the men’s pro-elite race. Weather conditions were warm with barely any wind, and the pavement was dry.

Other results:
For the third time in a row, it was Elisabeth Albert (Rocky Mountain Lessard Bicycle) who won the 24km women’s race. Rosalie Cardin-Houde (IAMGOLD-Specialized) finished second and her team mate, Marie-Ève Poisson, finished third. Absent from the first three races, Albert (also a prominent speed skater) has come on like a rocket and now is second only to Rosalie Cardin-Houde (IAMGOLD-Specialized) in cumulative points (186 vs. 274).

In the cadet men’s race, run simultaneously with the women’s race, Thierry Kirouac Marcassa (VCL-André Cycle) once again triumphed, followed by Charles Roy (Amos) in second and Simon Cournoyer (VC Métropolitain Cycles) in third. Roy is from the tiny Abitibi town of Amos, almost seven hours north of Montreal, but told us that he came south for more than one bike race.

Among the minimes (male), Antoine Dalterio (Espoirs Laval Primeau Vélo) won the 16km race, followed by Griffin Schwartz (Independent) in second and Tristan Guillemette (Velo Mauricie) in third. Among the girls, it was Charlotte Tousignant (Espoirs Laval Primeau Vélo) who won the evening stage race, followed by Laurie Jussaume (Dynamiks de Contrecoeur) in second and her team mate Laurie-Anne Grenon in third.

The next race is Tuesday, July 16th, around LaSalle Park in the Montreal borough of Lachine. The first race starts at 5:30 p.m. and the men’s pro-elite race is at 7 p.m. It is free to watch the bike races.

Results (brief)
1. Simon Lambert-Lemay (Garneau-Québécor)
2. Pierrick Naud (Garneau-Québécor)
3. Jean-François Laroche (Fantino Mondello/Cycles Régis)


Press release


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.