Canadian Cyclist


July 31/13 10:59 am - Cycling Canada Announces MTB Worlds Team

Posted by Editoress on 07/31/13

Cycling Canada is proud to announce the cyclists selected to compete for Canada at the upcoming 2013 UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships to be held in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, from August 26th to September 1st.

The Canadian World Championships team is comprised of 32 athletes - 12 downhillers and 20 cross-country riders - who will compete in the cross-county, downhill and trials races in Junior, U23 and Elite categories.

"We continue to have the ability to stand on the podium at these events. Our cross-country program has been one of the strongest in the world over the last Olympic cycle, with World Titles and World Cup titles, as well as several medals in downhill. We are heading to South Africa with the objective to continue our momentum of performance at the highest level as we enter a new and exciting cycle that will take us to Rio," said Jacques Landry, High Performance Director and Head Coach at Cycling Canada.

Steve Smith (Cassidy, BC) and Mark Wallace (Duncan, BC) headline the downhill group to compete at the World Championships, along with Holly Feniak (Sechelt, BC) who will be defending her Junior women world championships title. Both Smith and Wallace have been riding strongly this season on the UCI World Cup tour, showing depth and consistency.

In the cross-country events, the dynamic duo of Emily Batty (Brooklin, ON) and Catharine Pendrel (Kamloops, BC), who both have demonstrated podium performances this season on the UCI World Cup tour, will be looking take the top spot at the event. Pendrel won the World Championships race in 2011.

Six-time Canadian Champion Geoff Kabush (Courtenay, BC) two-time Canadian Champion Max Plaxton (Victoria, BC) and current Canadian Champion Derek Zandstra (Trenton, ON) will be looking to post big performances this year in the Elite men race. Kabush is known in mountain biking for his ability to perform on demand at major events such as World Championships, while Max Plaxton is now a consistent contender in elite field.

The Espoirs (U23) Men field in Canada has great depth, with many riders challenging for a spot on team. The Canadian Champion, Mitchell Bailey (Barrie, ON), will be on the start line in South Africa, along with Antoine Caron (Stoneham, QC) and Evan McNeely (Ottawa, ON). In the women’s field, Espoirs rookie Frederique Trudel (Breakeyville, QC), who is undefeated at Canadian Championships in the last three years by winning two Junior titles and the Espoirs title in her first season riding in the age group, will be among the selected group of riders.

Peter Disera (Barrie, ON), who has impressed with his diverse skill sets by winning gold medals at cyclo-cross, road and mountain bike Canadian championships, will be leading the Junior men crew. Rachel Pageau (Chicoutimi, QC), who has competed in some UCI World Cups this year, will be competing in the Junior women race. Both Disera and Pageau recently won the Junior Canadian Championships titles in the cross country event.


Junior Men
Hugo Langevin [Ste Catherine, QC]
Mckay Vezina [Newbury Park, CA]
Mark Wallace [Duncan, BC] *

Junior Women
Holly Feniak [Sechelt, BC] (Reigning World Junior Champion)

Elite Men
Remi Gauvin [Nanoose Bay, BC]
Forrest Riesco [Gibson, BC]
Kyle Sangers [Kingston, ON]
Sidney Slotegraaf [Hamilton, ON]
Steve Smith [Cassidy, BC] *

Elite Women
Casey Brown [Revelstoke, BC]
Micayla Gatto [West Vancouver, BC] *
Lauren Rosser [Squamish, BC] (2010 World Junior Champion)


Junior Women
Haley Golding [Newcastle, ON]
Marine Lewis [St-Sauveur, QC]
Rachel Pageau [Chicoutimi, QC] *

Junior Men
Felix Belhumeur [Quebec, QC]
Felix Burke [Mont-Tremblant, QC]
Peter Disera [Barrie, ON] [Team Relay] *

Espoirs (U23) Women
Andreane Lanthier-Nadeau [Quebec, QC]
Magalie Rochette [St-Jérome, QC]
Frederique Trudel [Breakeyville, QC] *

Espoirs (U23) Men
Mitchell Bailey [Barrie, ON] [Team Relay] *
Antoine Caron [Stoneham, QC]
Evan McNeely [Ottawa, ON]

Elite Women
Emily Batty [Brooklin, ON] [Team Relay] *
Catharine Pendrel [Kamloops, BC] (2011 Word Champion)
Amanda Sin [Collingwood, ON]
Sandra Walter [Coquitlam, BC]

Elite Men
Raphael Gagne [Quebec, QC)
Geoff Kabush [Courtenay, BC]
Max Plaxton [Victoria, BC]
Derek Zandstra [Trenton, ON] [Team Relay] *
* Current Canadian Champions


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.