Canadian Cyclist


May 31/00 9:08 am - Lachine Crit, Mississauga Midweek, U.S. Results

Posted by Editor on 05/31/00

Lachine International Criterium, Quebec

Two days after the Montreal World Cup an evening criterium was held in Lachine. World Cup leader Diane Zilute (Acca Due) won the 32 lap event in a field sprint, and her team mate Marion Clignet took the four primes without much contest. The race was fairly quiet because no one wanted to risk a crash or injury so close to the Philadelphia World Cup next weekend. Results to follow.

La Bicicletta Midweek Criterium Series - Ontario
(courtesy Peter McCaffery)

Event 6  May 30/00 - Handicap Race 51.6 km 28 laps
Av. Sp. H/cap: 43.6 kph, Scratch:  46.0 kph

1David FryRNH11:24:4712
2Jeff HansenItal Pasta1s.t.11
3Paul RegoOakvile1s.t.10
4Peter MorseTrek Canada1s.t.9
5Piers DavidgeMississauga Gears1s.t.8
6James WaddenKiro1s.t.7
7Kevin SpeachtKiro1s.t.6
8?? help! 5
9Aubrey BryceD'OrnellasMA?s.t.4
10Zehir HarrisInd.2s.t.3

19 starters, 18 finishers  Thanks to Earl Dukes for marshalling and to all the riders for braving the appalling weather

Series Standings To-Date:

NameClubCategoryTotal Points
Speacht, KevinKiro172
Rego, PaulOakville142
Wadden, James J.Kiro136
Hansen, JeffItal Pasta134
Davidge, PiersMississauga Gears130
Small, SimonItal Pasta130
Fry, DavidRNH125
Morse, PeterKiro125
Shaw, MarkIndMB24
Valenti, JasonBrampton123
Abramavicius, TonyMississauga GearsMB22
Britnell, DaveHummingbirds219
Thomas, GrahamHalton R&TMB19
Traini, EnricoMississauga Gears319
Krip, BruceRNH217
Zuck, DonIndMB17
Bryce, AubreyD’OrnaellasA16
Hansen, MattIntersports116
Cavanagh, GregMississauga Gears115
Abbey, GarnettHalton R&TMA14
Salisbury, DuncanHalton R&T314
Bagnasco, FernandoMississauga Gears313
Fletcher, RobertIndMA13

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
(courtesy John Wordin, Team Mercury)

In a hard fought battle on an unseasonably cool and windy afternoon in Lancaster, PA, the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, Trent Klasna took a narrow sprint win over his break companions.

The fast, rolling 12 km course in Lancaster combines hilly country roads with fast urban racing over 13 total laps. From the gun, the action was hot, as the first lap saw a quartet of Chris Horner (Mercury), Chris Wherry (Saturn), Matt Gilmore (MemoryCard) and Eddy Gragus (Jelly Belly) get away. They quickly gained almost a minute.

As the gap dropped, a counter attack of three riders (Fred Rodriguez-Mapei, Cesary Zamana-Mat, Jan Bratkowski-Mercury) bridged up and made it seven up front. Soon, other riders like World Champion Oscar Friere (Mapei-Quick Step), USPRO champ Marty Jemison (USPS) and Doug Ziewacz (7Up-Colorado Cyclist) bridged up.

At 6 laps to go, the Memory Card rider was dropped from the group. That led to a chase from the US Postal and Memory Card teams.

After various unsuccessful attacks, Alessandro Guerra (Saeco-Valli & Valli) took off with 3 laps to go and moved out to a lead of 35", the peloton was not concerned with the Saeco rider.

At 2 laps to go, it looked like the race was going to come down to a uncharacteristic field sprint. Riders from Mapei, USPS and Mercury brought Guerra back, and on a countermove by Trent Klasna, the race winning break was formed.

Klasna had been in front all afternoon and when he went, MemoryCard strongman Michael Sandstod and Fred Rodriguez bridged up.

This trio quickly put distance on the peloton and although their gap never exceeded 30", with a tough pursuit behind from USPS and Mercury, they lasted until the end, where the peloton almost caught them from behind in the last 100 meters. Klasna took a flyer for the win, while Sandstod just squeaked by Rodriguez for runner-up.

1. Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn 3:21:04
2. Michael Sandst0d (Den) Memory Card-Jack&Jones
3. Fred Rodriguez (USA) Mapei-Quick Step
4. Jan Bratkowski (Ger) Mercury
5. Salvatore Commesso (Ita) Saeco-Valli & Valli
6. Arvis Piziks (Lat) Memory Card
7. George Hincapie (USA) U.S. Postal Service
8. Oscar Friere (Spa) Mapei-Quick Step
9. Tristan Hoffman (Ned) Memory Card
10. Adham Sbeih (USA) Navigators
11. Nicolaj Bo Larsen (Den) Memory Card-Jack&Jones
12. Harm Jansen (Ned) Saturn
13. Cesary Zamana (Pol) MAT-Ceresit
14. Dario Andriotto (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
15. Vassili Davidenko (Rus) Navigators
16. John Lieswyn (USA) Shaklee
17. Frank McCormack (USA) Saturn
18. Mark Walters (Can) Navigators
19. Ryan Guay (USA) 7UP Colorado Cyclist
20. Andrew Randell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee Cycling Team

Other U.S. Results:

Somerville, New Jersey

1. Jonas Carney (USA) Shaklee
2. Dave McCook (USA) Shaklee
3. Roberto Gaggioli (USA) DeFeet
4. Adam Hodges Myerson (USA) Breakaway Couriers
5. Franky Van Haesebroucke (Bel) Navigators

1. Tina Mayolo (USA)
2. Laura Van Gilder (USA) Charles Schwab
3. Jen Dial (USA)

Clarendon Cup Criterium - Arlington, Virginia

1 Dave McCook (USA) Shaklee
2 Jonas Carney (USA) Shaklee
3 Mark McCormack (USA) Saturn
4 Kevin Monahan (USA) 7UP-Colorado Cyclist
5 Franky Van Haesebroucke (Bel) Navigators

10 Charles Dionne (Can) Volkswagen

1 Nicole Reinhart (USA) Saturn
2 Nicole Freedman (USA) Charles Schwab
3 Laura VanGilder (USA) Charles Schwab
4 Susanne Sonye (USA) Saturn
5 Rosalind Reekie-May (NZL) New Zealand

9 Clara Hughes (Can) Saturn

Capitol Cup Crit - Washington D.C.

1 Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury
2 Robbie Ventura (USA) Saturn
3 Dave McCook (USA) Shaklee
4 Kevin Monahan (USA) 7UP-Colorado Cyclist
5 Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn

9 Charles Dionne (Can) Volkswagen
13 Alexandre Lavallee (Can) Kissena
23 Sylvain Beauchamp (Can) Shaklee
24 Blair Saunders (Can) Team Delaware


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.