Canadian Cyclist


November 18/13 9:20 am - UCI Appoints Commission Members - Canada has Two Members

Posted by Editor on 11/18/13

The UCI has released the names of the individuals who will serve on the Commissions that oversee each of the disciplines that make up the sport.  The names of the Presidents for the Commissions were released earlier.

Canada has two people on Commissions - Former world champion and national track coach Tanya Dubnicoff on the Track Commissions, and former Cycling Canada President Brian Jolly returns to the Mountain Bike Commission.  Martin Barras, originally from Canada but now an Australian national coach sits on the Women's Commission.  Surprisingly, FQSC Director Louis Barbeau was not renamed to the Para-Cycling Commission, and Canada has no representation on that Commission.

Members of 18 commissions have been appointed. In an unprecedented decision in the organisation's history, at least one woman will sit on each of the commissions newly-designated under the Presidency of Brian Cookson.

In line with the manifesto commitments, three new commissions have been set up: the Women's Commission, the International Development and National Federations' Commission, and a Constitutional Review Panel.

The Cycling for All Commission has been separated into two bodies: the "Mass Participation Events" and "Advocacy/Cyclist's Rights" Commissions. The UCI means to place particular emphasis on the development of these two areas.

UCI President Brian Cookson declared: "I am delighted by this announcement, which helps reinforce the presence of women in cycling. It was one of the priorities of my mandate along with the international development of cycling and the reform of the governance of the UCI. Today we continue working to ensure our pledges are met."


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.