Canadian Cyclist


December 16/13 10:40 am - Canadian Cyclist of the Year Voting is Close

Posted by Editor on 12/16/13

After the first weekend of voting, we are starting to see some patterns in voting for the 17th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year awards. The voting for the top woman is very close, with a number of lead switches occurring. Currently, track and road cyclist Gillian Carleton is in the lead, but that only changed in the past few hours, with double national road champion Joelle Numainville leading before. Laura Brown, winner of a Track World Cup Points Race earlier this Fall, is also very close to the lead, and Karol-Ann Canuel is not out of the running either. All four are so close that a few dozen votes can change the standings.

In the voting for the top man, Downhill World Cup champion Steve Smith took an early lead, but was overtaken first by David Veilleux and then Svein Tuft. Tuft is currently leading, but the three are still very close, with Smith moving back into second recently. This is another contest that is too close to call.

However, it is the competition for Best Individual Performance that is the tightest race. Literally 25 votes separate all six candidates. Tuft's Tour de France TTT ride is leading, but Brown, Veilleux and Smith are just a few votes behind, with both Frank Parisien and Peter Disera only a few votes further back.

If you haven't voted yet, then don't delay - Vote Now!


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.