Canadian Cyclist


December 23/13 9:09 am - Vancouver Island Riders Sweep 2013 Canadian Cyclist Awards

Posted by Editor on 12/23/13

The 17th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year awards saw some of the closest voting in the history of the awards, with the winners of these Peoples Choice awards only being decided in the final 24 hours of balloting.  Two riders from Vancouver Island swept the awards, with Gillian Carleton of Victoria being selected as the Female Canadian Cyclist of 2013, while Steve Smith of Cassidy, BC, won both the Male title and Best Individual Performance of the year.  It was the first win for Carleton, while Smith also won in 2011.PHOTO

Carleton, who was a member of the Olympic bronze medal Team Pursuit squad at the velodrome in London last year, won a round of the Track World Cup this year, as well as finishing third in the Team Pursuit at the World Championships and second in three Track World Cups in this discipline.  Carleton trailed national road champion Joelle Numainville of Laval, Quebec, in the early voting, before moving into a tie with 36 hours remaining, and then into the lead in the final 24 hours.  Both Carleton and Numainville took 25% of the first place ballots, with Carleton scoring a higher number of second place votes.  Laura Brown of Calgary finished third with 20.5% of first place votes.

From a national team training camp in Santa Ynez, California, Carleton said "It feels pretty surreal to win Best Female rider. Personally, it hasn't been the greatest year for me, so to see such wonderful support from everyone means so much. The fact that the voting was so close (in all categories!) really speaks volumes about the quality of cycling in Canada right now, as across all disciplines, Canadian cyclists are stepping up and delivering world class performances. It's a very exciting position to be in, looking towards the Commonwealth, Pan-American, and Rio Games - Cycling Canada is coming into itself as a strong cycling nation, and I can't wait to see what the future holds!"


right: Gillian Carlton, silver in the Omnium at the Manchester World Cup

Below Steve Smith at Mont Ste Anne World Cup








Downhill mountain bike professional Steve Smith had an almost perfect season; winning three of six World Cups and never finishing lower than fourth, to become the first Canadian to win the overall World Cup title.  Smith also became the Canadian national champion, and won the Canadian Downhill Open.  Smith took the title with a late surge in votes over Tour de France rider Svein Tuft of Langley, BC.  Smith won 46% of first place votes to Tuft's 25%, with recently retired road professional David Veilleux of Quebec City finishing third with 18%.  Ryder Hesjedal of Victoria, who was the Canadian Cyclist of the Year in 2012 when he won the Giro d'Italia, fared poorly in voting, receiving only 11% of first place votes after revealing in October that he used banned performance enhancing substances early in his career.

Smith also took the award for Best Individual Performance with his World Cup win on Canadian soil at Mont Ste Anne, Quebec, the first of three straight wins that led to his overall World Cup title.  Smith was picked for 29% of first place votes, followed by Tuft with 18% for his stage win in the Team Time Trial at the Tour de France and Veilleux at 17% for his stage win at the Criterium du Dauphine in France.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.