Canadian Cyclist


January 22/14 19:56 pm - Tour de San Luis: Stage 3, Nizzolo wins, Meier 3rd overall

Posted by Editoress on 01/22/14

Stage three at the Tour de San Luis ended in a mass bunch finish and Trek Factory Racing’s Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to victory on another searing hot and windy day in Argentina. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) finished second and Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) was third.

“The last three or four kilometers were a little bit uphill so the speed was not so high and it was hard because everyone tried to move up. When it’s bunched up like that it’s a little crazy,” explained Nizzolo about the stage's finish. “In the last kilometer I was 10th or 15th position with Danilo [Hondo] and Eugenio [Alafaci]. Lampre was leading the sprint and then Cavendish started with Boonen on his wheel and I came from behind and I overtook them with around 100 meters to go.”

The 175-kilometer stage was again a very hot and windy affair, and the Trek Factory Racing team had to help control an early breakaway, while keeping Nizzolo protected as echelons formed in the crosswinds.

“The wind made a lot of stress during the stage but at the end it did not make such a difference because the last three to four kilometers were uphill and we were covered from the wind. It was a side-wind all day and it was really hard; it was a tough stage.” Nizzolo continued.

Trek Factory Racing’s Fabio Silvestre worked early in the tough stage to keep the first break in check. His effort, plus that of the rest of the team, paid off in the end as Trek Factory Racing won its second stage in as many days.

“When you have a sprinter you have to help control the race and Fabio Silvestre worked hard today at the front,” explained Trek Factory Racing’s sport director Alain Gallopin. “We needed the others for the end; for the power of the sprint. All the team was very good today: Haimar [Zubeldia] and Julián [Arredondo] to take bottles and Danilo [Hondo] and Eugenio [Alafaci] to prepare the sprint for Giacomo. It was really, really good.”

A late five-rider break made a bid to escape the peloton with 25 kilometers to go and gained up to 40 seconds lead before the peloton reeled them back into the fold. A mass sprint was looking to be a certainty at this point as the sprinters’ teams began to control the front. Trek Factory Racing played the finish perfectly, waiting until the right moment to unleash Nizzolo. The Italian fast man came around Mark Cavendish and Tom Boonen on the left and won by a bike length.

“During the stage the feeling was not really good because of the heat,” Nizzolo said about the race. “But in the final - especially the last five kilometers - I was feeling very, very good, and in the end it worked out for me and team. I am very happy.”

Trek Factory Racing press release


Stage 3: Tilisarao to Juana Koslay, 175.8km
1 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing 4:14:19
2 Francisco José Ventoso (Esp) Movistar Team
3 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team
4 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp
5 Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
6 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale
7 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
8 Juan Esteban Arango (Col) Team Colombia
9 Edwin A. Avila (Col) Team Colombia
10 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team UnitedHealthcare
11 Clement Koretzky (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement
12 Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement
13 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team
14 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team
15 Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team
16 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica-GreenEDGE
17 Mikel Landa (Esp) Astana Pro Team
18 Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk
19 Luke Keough (USA) Team UnitedHealthcare
20 Lucas Euser (USA) Team UnitedHealthcare
22 Christian Meier (Can) Orica-GreenEDGE all s.t.
1 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin Sharp 12:34:53
2 Marc De Maar (AHO) Team UnitedHealthcare at 1:47
3 Christian Meier (Can) Orica-GreenEDGE 3:56
4 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team 4:16
5 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing s.t.
6 Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC Racing Team 4:19
7 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team s.t.
8 Haimar Zubeldia (Esp) Trek Factory Racing 4:21
9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica-GreenEDGE both s.t.
11 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale 4:24
12 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin Sharp
13 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne - Seche Environnement
14 Miguel A. Rubiano (Col) Team Colombia all s.t.
15 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos 4:27
16 Lucas Euser (USA) Team UnitedHealthcare
17 Isaac Bolivar (Col) Team UnitedHealthcare both s.t.
18 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement 4:47
19 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEDGE
20 Robert Squire (USA) Jamis-Hagens Berman both s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.