Canadian Cyclist


June 13/00 10:39 am - B.C. Track Championships

Posted by Editor on 06/13/00

Telus 2000 B.C. Provincial Track Cycling Championships
(courtesy Christopher Rowe)

The Telus 2000 BC Provincial Track Cycling Championships were held last weekend (10/11 June 2000) at the Juan de Fuca Velodrome in Victoria, BC.

Omnium winners were Keith Bruneau (Senior Men) and Mandy Poitras (Women).

29 riders registered for the event, down from 39 in 1999, and 59 in 1998 (a World Cup year). Some racers were perhaps dissuaded by very nasty weekend weather forecasts, and many local racers were away in the US for road events. Nevertheless, events ran smoothly and without delay until late Sunday morning, when increasing rain prompted a 3pm cancellation by the Cycling BC commissaires. Unfortunately, the rain forced the cancellation of the Men's and Women's Sprint Finals, as well as the Keirin and Men's Points Race. As always, riders and spectators enjoyed themselves in a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, entertained by music and the usual humorous colour commmentary which has become a Victoria track hallmark.

Organizers hope to generate higher attendance for the 2001 championships by scheduling the event in late July or August in an attempt to ensure better weather. As well, we hope to be able to advertise some serious prize money next year.

Please visit our website at for photos and club information.

Christopher Rowe
Greater Victoria Velodrome Association

The Greater Victoria Velodrome Association wishes to thank the event sponsors: Telus (title sponsor), BMO/Nesbitt Burns, Gerald L Loster Barrister & Solicitor, PriceWaterhouseCooper, idealink architecture ltd, Unity Business Systems, Shepard Computers, Dr Wayne Walker, St John Ambulance, Water Pure and Simple, Thrifty Foods, Old Dutch Foods, Envirofresh, Girard Games and Awards. The assistance of the Juan de Fuca Parks and Recreation Commission is gratefully acknowledged.

Individual Pursuit Veteran Men
1Price, Stephen04:13.0
2Emerly, Mark04:13.3
200m Sprint Veteran Men
1Blain, Kerry12.86
2Price, Stephen13.54
500m Time Trial Women
1Poitras, Mandy38.85
2Baerg, Shannon42.44
3Collis, Leigh Anne42.93
4Sweeney, Lisa44.12
5Laliberte, Sara46.58
6Phillips, Noelle48.31
1000m Time Trial Senior Men
1Solem, Murray01:09.8
2Bruneau, Keith01:10.5
3Hansen, Tyler01:10.8
4Conlin, Leonard01:15.1
5Heins, Jay01:18.8
6Carson, Neil01:18.9
Williams, Scott01:13.5
Olympic Sprint Senior Men
1Durrant, Charles
Blain, Kerry
Williams, Scott
2Solem, Murray
Hansen, Tyler
Bruneau, Keith
3Zarsadias, Tony
Henderson, Paul
Avsar, Attilla
Points Race Women
1Baerg, Shannon20 points
2Sweeney, Lisa19
3Collis, Leigh Anne14
4Willock, Erinne8
5Trevorrow, Marianne5
6Laliberte, Sara0
7Phillips, Noelle0
Madison Senior Men
1Kalin, Steve
Solem, Murray
2Kilcullen, Tim
Whittingham, Sam
3Henderson, Paul
Zardsadias, Tony
4Heins, Jay
Carson, Neil
5Williams, Scott
Russell, Jamie
Individual Pursuit Women
1Poitras, Mandy04:09.5
2Collis, Leigh Anne04:20.5
3Baerg, Shannon04:17.3
Individual Pursuit Senior Men
1Henderson, Paul05:11.9
2Kalin, Steven05:22.1
3Whittingham, SamDECLARED
Omnium Women
1Poitras, Mandy10 points
2Baerg, Shannon10
3Collis, Leigh Anne7
4Laliberte, Sara5
5Sweeney, Lisa5
6Trevorrow, Marianne3
7Phillips, Noelle2
8Willock, Erinne2
Omnium Men
1Bruneau, Keith8 points
2Solem, Murray7
3Henderson, Paul5
4Hansen, Tyler5
5Kalin, Steven3
6Whittingham, Sam2
7Conlin, Leonard1
8Williams, Scott1


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.