Canadian Cyclist


June 29/00 10:32 am - MSA, Canmore, Alberta News, Mississauga Midweek, Bromont Track & More

Posted by Editor on 06/29/00

Mont Ste Anne World Cup Street Race

Results of the time trial held in Quebec City's Old Town last night.

1. Alla Epifanova (RUS) Volvo-Cannondale 6:32
2. Marie-Helene Premont (CAN) Oryx-Procycle at 0:30

1. Andreas Hestler (CAN) Ford-DeVinci 5:28
2. Mathieu Toulouse (CAN) Ford-DeVinci at 0:11

3. Kashi Leuchs (NZL) Volvo-Cannondale 0:18
4. Asiak Johansen (NOR) Independent Fabrications-Froy 0:22
5. William Holmes (USA) Independent Fabrications) 0:43
6. Daryl Saul (USA) Mongoose Pro 55.1
7. Dylan Taylor (USA) Cannondale 1:07
Luke Stockwell (AUS) Rocky Mountain DSQ

Note: We will be heading up to MSA tomorrow so that we can provide live coverage of all the activities, beginning Saturday with the Downhill and Dual competitions.

Tissot-UCI Canmore World Cup

July 7-9, Canmore Nordic Centre, presented by Coors Light

Friday, July 7th

6-8 PM Sunlight World Challenge Street Race ˆ Main Street

Saturday July 8th

8AM-5PM Sunlight World Challenge Amateur Cross Country ˆ Canmore Nordic Centre

7PM Giant Bicycles World Cup Party ˆ Canmore Curling Club

Sunday, July 9th

10:30 AM World Cup Women

1:30 PM World Cup Men

4 PM World Cup Award Ceremony


- Big crowds are expected on July 9th! We have arranged a Bus Shuttle from COP in Calgary that can save you time and money! Go here for details!

- The course is unchanged from previous years, except that we have removed the stumps from the Sunlight Laundry Chute! Go to the website for recent photos!

- Better weather than last year, Guaranteed!

- Early registration ends at 5 PM local time this Friday, July 30th. Online registration is available. See our website for registration options! (Note: you can go directly to online registration on the Canadian Cyclist website by clicking on the Online Event Registration graphic)

- We’re still looking for volunteers. Please contact us or see our website for more information. Cool rewards!

- Admission $8 (athletes, volunteers, and kids under 10 are free). Call 1-877-678-1635 for advance ticket sales! Includes a chance to win one of three Tissot Swiss Watches!

Alberta News
(courtesy Greg Flaaten)

The 2000 Provincial Mountain Bike Team was selected this past weekend, following Ridley's Summer Solstice race. This year's team is reflective of the MTB Committee's emphasis on young, developing riders. Selected to the team on points were the following x-country riders:

Elite Women - Ann Yew (ERTC/River Valley Cycle)
Espoir Men - Roddi Lega (Green Mountain Cycle)
Junior Men - Carl Morrison (Sport Shack)

Selection of the Mountain Bike Committee were:

Junior Men XC - Grant Laird (ERTC/River Valley Cycle)
Junior Women XC - Laura Yoisten (Olympic Oval/The Bike Shop)
Junior Men DH/Dual - Kyle Biggy (Cafe Racers)

The team will compete at the National Mountain Bike Championships, July 21 -23 at Camp Fortune, Quebec, and will be managed by Steve McCarthy and Natasha Ward.

The provincial Track Team begins competition next Wednesday, July 5, at Bromont, Quebec. Team Alberta riders include Lori-Anne Muenzer, Lars Madsen, Jim Fisher, Doug Baron, Ryan McKenzie, and Laura Yoisten.

Alberta road rider Paul Kelly received some big news recently: Paul will complete the season with Navigators, an American professional team. (Editor's Note: Paul was first contacted by Navigators at GP Beauce. We are glad to see that he has found a North American team to continue his career with).

Tour Fantasy League

If you have ambitions of being a Tour de France Directeur Sportif, then try your hand at building your own team on this site:

La Bicicletta Midweek Club Points Race - Ontario
(courtesy Peter McCaffery)

Tuesday's La Bicicletta points criterium on the popular Airport Corporate Park circuit was, at seventy-seven kilometers, the longest race in the series' four year history. Over ninety riders started the race, with the handicap group of forty, leaving the line two and a half minutes ahead of the fifty-four -strong scratch group. The strong south east wind slowed the pace and there were no succesful breakaway attempts by the handicappers. Ex national team member, Don Zuck (independent), managed to steal some early points before the scratch group caught the rest of the field at just befoer the halfway point as did sprinter Aubrey Bryce (D'ornellas Bike Shop). Meanwhile, a quartet comprising Jeff Hansen and Andrew Pinfold (Ital Pasta), first year senior Enrico Traini (Mississauga Gears) and last year's series winner, Heath Cockburn (Jet Fuel/Steamwhistle Beer) detached itself from the scratch group and soon had a lead of over half a minute, motoring right through the leaders a couple of laps before the rest of the bunch. This break continued for another four laps before the pace became to much for Traini and Pinfold, who dropped back. At the same time, Sean Kelly (Jet Fuel) and 42 year-old Don Zuck broke away from the main group and joined the duo for a lap.

However, with seventeen kilometers to go, all were absorbed by the peloton, leaving Hansen and Cockburn out in front. With eight laps left and the wind dying down, the main group picked up speed and finally caught them, setting the stage for a bunch finish In the final sprint, it was Pinfold just easing out Cockburn to take the chequered flag, with 45 year-old Aubrey Bryce clinching third spot, showing he still has a great sprint. The overall results, shown below, were determined by top three positions in a series of nine intermediate sprints, hence the event's name. Next week, Peter Mazur, the top-ranked junior road racer in the world, will be competing in one of his all-to-rare appearances in Canada. This should be an event well-worth watching.

35 laps, 75 km. Average Speed 41.25 kph (scratch group)

1Heath CockburnJet Fuel114
2Andrew PinfoldItal Pasta110
3Jeff HansenItal Pasta18
4Aubrey BryceD'OrnellasMB5
5Don ZuckIndependentMB5
6Peter MorseKiro Steamwhistle13
7Andrew HickmanMisissauga Gears33
8Wynn LegonIndependent33
9Enrico TrainiMisissauga Gears22
10David FryHumingbirds12
11Kevin SpeachtKiro Steanmwhistle12
12Sean KellyJet Fuel22
13Brian TurnerKiro22
14Joe GiulianoJet Fuel11
15Jeff ArchboldMississauga Gears31

Note: riders with equal points were placed based on their position in the final sprint

94 starters, 49 finishers

Davor Grabovac for help with registration and marshalling


1999 Québec Provincial Track Championships

No, we are not just getting around to putting these results up.... They just became available (courtesy Pierre Thibault at the FQSC), and offer an opportunity for competitors at the upcoming Track Nationals in Bromont to see what sort of times are being recorded on the track. Go Here for the complete results.

Registration Reminder

Registration fees for both Canmore and the Summer Session go up after tomorrow (June 30th).

Happy Birthday To...

National team downhiller Trevor Porter (today).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.