Canadian Cyclist


August 14/14 13:54 pm - Mardis Cyclistes 2014 Finale

Posted by Editoress on 08/14/14

Pierrick Naud (Quebecor Garneau) won the final stage of the 2014 season of Mardis Cyclistes presented by Jean Coutu, with a time of 1:01:44 over the 50 km, an average speed of 48.5 km/h. He clipped his teammate, Simon Lambert-Lemay, at the finish. Mathieu Roy (Véloselect) followed in third position.

"I won tonight by just a wheel but I helped Simon to become champion here," said Naud. "It's fun to ride in Lachine before the big crowd. The only rider who scared me this season was Keeping before his crash (on stage 8). I am happy to win the red jersey for a second year in a row. I'm leaving soon for the Tour of Alberta and then I hope to have a good chance of being selected for the national team for the two WorldTour races (Quebec and Montreal) in September. "

"No, there is no rivalry between me and Pierrick" said Lambert-Lemay.”We train together. Pierrick helps me here and I help him elsewhere. But on September 2, I’m going back to school and I'll forget my bike."

There were 126 riders at the pro-elite start line, including two women, Catherine Dessureault (SAS Mazda) and Joelle Numainville (Optum), for the first time in 37 years. Both women finished; over the years, only four women have completed the senior men’s race: Lyne Bessette, Dessureault, Audrey Lemieux and Numainville.

As regards the general classification (GC), Lambert-Lemay finished with 996 cumulative points to become the 2014champion, followed by Naud with 925 points and Stephen Keeping (Transports Lacombe) with 705 points.

Rebecca Beaumont wins for the women

In the women’s race run earlier in the evening, Rebecca Beaumont (Independent) won the 24 km event ahead of Marie Soleil Blais (Realdealgears), followed by Audrey Bernard (Stevens The Cyclery) in third. However, Blais won the championship with 415 points, followed by Audrey Bernard (The Cyclery Stevens), with 359 points while Beaumont finished with 302 points.

Among the juniors, Thierry Kirouac Marcassa (NCCH) won the race with a time of 32:31 over the 24 km, followed by two of his teammates Jordann Jones in second and Jake Allaire third. Marcassa Kirouac won the championship with 501 points, followed by Griffin Schwartz (independent) with 300 points and François Barriault (CCB-Ultimate) with 255 points.

As for minimes, Dawson MacDonald (NCCH) took the victory among the boys with a time of 24:18 over the 16 km. But Antoine Dalterio (Espoirs Laval) is the new champion of the 2014 series with 501 points. Among the girls, Sandrine Heroux (CCB Ultimate) won the stage, simultaneously bumping her teammate Emma Delisle out of first place in the GC. Heroux thus became champion with 504 points versus 493 for Delisle.

It was sunny and warm Tuesday evening in Lachine, the rain started only after the races were finished.

Press release


Brief Results


Pro-Elite men
1 Pierrick Naud (Garneau Quebecor)
2 Simon Lambert-Lemay (Garneau Quebecor)
3 Mathieu Roy (Véloselect)


Rebecca Beaumont (Independent)
Marie Soleil Blais (Realdealgears)
Audrey Bernard (Stevens The Cyclery)


Final GC after 10 weeks


Pro-Elite men

1 Simon Lambert-Lemay (Garneau-Quebecor) 996 pts
2 Pierrick Naud (Garneau Quebecor) 925
3 Stephen Keeping (Transports Lacombe) 705



1 Marie Soleil Blais (Realdealgears) 415 points
2 Audrey Bernard (The Cyclery Stevens) 359
3 Rebecca Beaumont (Independent) 302 points.


Full results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.