Canadian Cyclist


August 20/14 18:42 pm - Cycling Canada Announces Pan Am Track Championships Squad

Posted by Editoress on 08/20/14

With Olympic qualification points on the line, Canada is sending its "A" team to the 2014 UCI Pan-American Track Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico, on September 11th to 14th.

Sixteen Canadians will be in Mexico, with the dual objectives of stepping on the podium and scoring as many UCI points as possible in the Olympic events - the women's and men's Team Pursuit, Team Sprint, Omnium, Sprint and Keirin.

Of note, Gillian Carleton of Victoria, BC, will make her return to international track competitions after missing much of the last track season due to illness. Carleton will focus on the women's Omnium, while Laura Brown of Vancouver, BC, Allison Beveridge of Calgary, AB, Stephanie Roorda of Vancouver, BC, Jasmin Glaesser of Coquitlam, BC and Kirsti Lay of Calgary, AB, will compete in the women's Team Pursuit.

Also returning to international competition for the first time since 2012 is Monique Sullivan of Calgary, AB, who finished sixth in the women's Keirin at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Sullivan will compete in the Team Sprint alongside either Olympic bobsledder Kate O'Brien of Calgary, AB, or track sprinter Sara Byers of St-Catharines, ON. Sullivan's teammate will be selected after an assessment camp in Los Angeles on September 2nd.

The men will be looking to build on their performances at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow earlier this summer, where Canada finished fourth in both the Team Pursuit and the Team Sprint.

Two riders will be missing from the men's Team Pursuit squad: Zach Bell of North Vancouver, BC, and Nic Hamilton of Victoria, BC, have road commitments with their professional teams. Instead, Sean MacKinnon of Hamilton, ON, will step up to join the squad, while Eric Johnstone of Calgary, AB, will travel to Aguascalientes as an alternate.

Endurance - Women
Allison Beveridge (Calgary, AB)
Laura Brown (Vancouver, BC)
Gillian Carleton (Victoria, BC)
Jasmin Glaesser (Coquitlam, BC)
Kirsti Lay (Calgary, AB)
Stephanie Roorda (Vancouver, BC)

Sprint - Women
Kate O'Brien (Calgary, AB) or Sara Byers (St. Catharines, ON)
Monique Sullivan (Calgary, AB)

Endurance - Men
Aidan Caves (Vancouver, BC)
Eric Johnstone (Calgary, AB)
Sean MacKinnon (Hamilton, ON)
Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Quebec, QC)
Ed Veal (Queensville, ON)

Sprint - Men
Hugo Barrette (Cap-aux-Meules, QC)
Vincent de Haître (Cumberland, ON)
Joseph Veloce (Fonthill, ON)

Courtesy Cycling Canada


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.