Canadian Cyclist


August 25/14 12:45 pm - Cycling Canada Announces Team for Para Worlds

Posted by Editoress on 08/25/14

After successful World Cup events in Italy and Spain earlier this season, the Canadian Para-Cycling Team is determined to finish the UCI road season on a strong and positive note as the best in the world converge in Greenville, South Carolina, for the 2014 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships from August 29th to September 1st.

After putting the final touches to their preparation in Bromont, Quebec, the team is now ready to compete for podium honours and world titles, while chasing valuable points to qualify for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Canada presently sits in fourth position in the UCI Nations Ranking and will be counting on athletes such as defending World Champion Shelley Gautier, to increase it's ranking. Gautier won the White Jersey in 2014, awarded to the World Cup Champion for each category.

Other Canadians also won medals on the Para-cycling Road World Cup this summer: Marie-Ève Croteau (Québec, QC), Jaye Milley (Calgary, AB), Ross Wilson (Sherwood Park, AB), Marie-Claude Molnar (St-Hubert, QC), Nicole Clermont (Sherbrooke, QC) as well as the men's tandem formed by Daniel Chalifour (Mont-Laurier, QC) and Alexandre Cloutier (St-Antoine-de-Tilly, QC)

The fact that Cycling Canada can expect multiple medal performances in Greenville is greatly due to the support of its provincial associations, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and Own the Podium.

Marie-Ève Croteau (T2 - Québec, QC) TT, RR
Shelley Gautier (T1 - Toronto, ON) TT, RR
Marie-Claude Molnar (C4 - St. Hubert, QC) TT, RR
Nicole Clermont (C5 - St. Denis de Brompton, QC) TT, RR
Robbi Weldon (B - Thunder Bay, ON) TT, RR
Lyne Bessette (Pilot - Bromont, QC) TT, RR
Shawna Ryan (B - Saskatoon, SK) TT, RR
Audrey Lemieux (Pilot - Montreal, QC) TT, RR
Myriam Adam (H3 - St Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay

Jaye Milley (C1 - Calgary, AB) TT, RR
Aroussen Laflamme (Pilot - St Augustin de Desmaures, QC) TT, RR
Alexandre Carrier (B - Bromont, QC) TT, RR
Alexandre Cloutier (Pilot - St Antoine de Tilly, QC) TT, RR
Daniel Chalifour (B - Mont Laurier, QC) TT, RR
Robert Labbé (H2 - Quebec, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Charles Moreau (H3 - Trois-Rivières, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Mark Beggs (H3 - Montreal, QC) TT, RR, Team Relay
Mark Ledo (H4 - Maple, ON) TT, RR, Team Relay
Ross Wilson (C1 - Sherwood Park, AB) TT, RR
Michael Sametz (C3 - Calgary, AB) TT, RR
Mathieu Croteau-Daigle (B - Thetford Mines, QC) TT, RR
Pierre-Olivier Boily (Pilot – Sherbrooke, QC) TT, RR

Courtesy Cycling Canada


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.