Canadian Cyclist


November 18/14 8:37 am - Two Canadians Re-elected to International Court of Arbitration for Sport

Posted by Editoress on 11/18/14

The International Council of Arbitration for Sport (ICAS) today announces the appointment of new council members for its next four-year term, beginning on 1 January 2015. The elections took place at the 42nd ICAS Meeting, held on 13 November 2014 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Canadian members Richard Pound and Tricia Smith were re-elected to the Council.

The ICAS is the governing body of the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) and manages its administration and finances. It is composed of twenty international judges or lawyers active in the judiciary, international arbitration and sports administration. The ICAS membership includes six former international athletes of whom four are Olympians.

The CAS is an independent institution, based in Lausanne, involved in resolving legal disputes in the field of sport through arbitration and mediation. The CAS jurisdiction is recognized by all Olympic sports federations and many non-Olympic federations. The CAS registers more than 400 cases each year.

In addition to the twelve members who have been re-elected, the ICAS welcomes eight new members.

Re-elected members New members
Mrs Tjasa Andrée-Prosenc (Slovenia) Dr Abdullah Al Hayyan (Kuwait)
Mr Patrick Baumann (Switzerland) Mr Scott Blackmun (USA)
Mr John D. Coates (Australia) Ms Alexandra Brilliantova (Russia)
Ms Moya Dodd (Australia) Mr Miguel Cardenal Carro (Spain)
H.E. Judge Nabil Elaraby (Eygpt) Ms Carole Malinvaud (France)
Judge Ivo Eusebio (Switzerland) Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (South Africa)
Mr Michael B. Lenard (USA) Justice Wilhelmina Thomassen (Netherlands)
Judge Ellen Gracie Northfleet (Brazil) Judge Hanqin Xue (China)
Mr Göran Petersson (Sweden)
Mr Richard W. Pound (Canada)
Ms Corinne Schmidhauser (Switzerland)
Ms Tricia C.M. Smith (Canada)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.