Canadian Cyclist


December 11/14 14:00 pm - Vote for the Canadian Cyclists of the Year! - Update

Posted by Editor on 12/11/14

Welcome to the 18th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards! After less then 24 hours we already have hundreds of ballots cast in our three categories:

Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Female
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Male
Best Individual Performance

In the voting for the top woman, Mountain Bike World Champion Catharine Pendrel has taken the lead after an early challenge from triple National Road Champion Leah Kirchmann, with track star Jasmin Glaesser in third.

The men's race is much tighter, with Giro jersey wearer Svein Tuft holding a slight lead over Under-23 mountain bike champion Leandre Bouchard, who saw a surge in voting this morning. Commonwealth Games bronze medalist Remi Pelletier-Roy is in third.

The voting for the top Individual Performance is dominated by Canadian women, with Pendrel's world championship winning ride ranked first, followed by the world championship silver medal ride of the Women's Team Pursuit squad, and then a tie between Leah Kirchmann's La Course third place and Svein Tuft's solo win at the Road Nationals.

The rider voting procedure reflects the fact that it can be difficult to select just one athlete to vote for. Instead, you will be able to rank your preferences, with the top rank receiving 5 points, the second receiving 4 points, etc. The athlete (and performance) receiving the highest average "grade" wins.

From your votes we will select the top Canadian Cyclists of 2014.

Voting will close at 8:00 pm EST (5:00 pm PST) on December 17th, so Vote Now!


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.