Canadian Cyclist


December 14/14 11:27 am - 60th Anniversary Nominations Open for Sports Hall of Fame

Posted by Editor on 12/14/14

Canada's Sports Hall of Fame will be celebrating its 60th Anniversary in 2015. Given that 2015 is the 60th Anniversary and Diamond Jubilee, the Hall will consider inducting a larger class next year. The Hall is endeavouring to identify those athletes and builders who recorded their most significant achievements and contributions in the century or so of Canadian sport prior to the establishment of Canada's Sports Hall of Fame in 1955, who meet the criteria for induction, and have never been inducted.

The idea is to recognize those athletes and builders at the dinner and in the displays at Canada's Sports Hall of Fame. Secondly, in recognition of the fact that Canada has produced a large number of outstanding athletes and builders and that not every one of those has been included, the Hall will consider inducting a larger number of exemplary Canadians in this special year.

The criteria for selection are as follows:

1. Outstanding athletic achievement/contribution.

2. Demonstrated critical social values during their journey that all Canadians can be inspired by.

3. Positively influenced their sport, community, and country.

For a complete list of the Honoured Members of Canada's Sports Hall of Fame, click on the link below:

Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Honoured Members

The Hall therefore invites you to submit any nominations you feel make the criteria for selection. The Hall would particularly like to hear from you if you know of someone from the pre-1955 period who should be recognized by Canada's Sports Hall of Fame, or someone from the post-1955 period who should be considered. Nomination forms and detailed information are available at; and nominations can be submitted to

Note: Cycling has six members of Canada's Sports Hall of Fame:

Steve Bauer
Curt Harnett
Clara Hughes
Jocelyn Lovell
William 'Torchy' Peden
Alison Sydor


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.