Canadian Cyclist


December 14/14 19:19 pm - Aylmer Express GP at Forest City Velodrome

Posted by Editoress on 12/14/14

You can tell the track scene in Ontario is exploding with the anticipated opening of the Milton Velodrome for the National Championships in January.

Fifty eight (58) athletes crowded into the infield at the Forest City Velodrome on Saturday night for the Aylmer Express GP. The program had a combination of Sprint and Endurance events.

The evening started with six different divisions of racers divided into age and ability categories, which seems to provide the best level of competition for the 138m indoor velodrome in London, Ontario. The Points races were the first up to entertain the bustling crowd in attendance.

All of the categories had very competitive racing with all the races coming down to the final sprint and very few points between first and second positions.

In the Elite Points race, there was lots of action right from the opening whistle. The 2014 U23 National Road Champion, and newly signed Silber Pro Cycling team member, Ben Perry, put on a clinic by lapping the field and scoring the most points during the intermediate sprints to win the opening race of the night. Also in attendance was Adam Jamieson (NCCH), who just returned from the London World Cup track meet, where Adam was a member of the Men's Team Pursuit program. Adam was second overall with 20 points, while Lucas Taylor (Kallisto-FCV) finished in third.

The Sprint Tournament was also very competitive with both men's and women's categories coming down to who attacked their opponent first. Coming over the top of riders at the FCV is quite difficult, however, in the women's final, Charlotte Creswicke (Kallisto-FCV) had to give it a go as Sara Byers (Kallisto-FCV) attacked the first year Cadet with two laps to go in the final. Creswicke has been gaining confidence with her second place (Silver medal) at the Junior National Championships at Burnaby in November.

As Byers lead out the sprint with two laps to go, Creswicke did not give up and, with cat-like leg speed, the youngster put a scare into the Elite racer with a burst of speed coming out of Corner Two, managing to come along side Byers. Both racers gave each other just enough room and Byers had the preferred line on the exit of Corner Four, to hold on for a hard fought victory.

Eric MacDonald ( just had too much speed and power as he was able to hold off Lucas Taylor (Kallisto-FCV) and win the men's tournament by 3 bike lengths. All these riders will be competing in the Milton Challenge in January.

Prior to the start of the Elite men's Scratch race, the Aylmer Express Newspaper, who have supported the FCV for the last nine years, made a presentation to the FCV from the 3 Port Tour. Brett, John and Renee Hueston, along with Krista Johnson, made a donation of $5,800 from monies raised at their Grand Fondo - The 3 Port Tour. All the members of the FCV and London Cycling community would like to thank the Hueston's and the Aylmer Express for their continued support of the FCV.

The last race of the night, an 80 lap Endurance scratch race for the Elite division, had multiple riders lapping the field. Fourteen (14) riders took to the rail to wait for their instructions.

The event started fast and never slowed; 25 laps into the race three riders lapped the field (Jamieson, Perry and Taylor). Others where all trying to get back on even terms with the three leaders, however, the pace was kept high and no one could make a move. With 20 laps to go Perry attacked, and the only rider able to respond was the young 15 year old from London, Lucas Taylor.

Shortly after the pair had taken their second lap, Jamieson needed to get back into the hunt. Jamieson got within 10 metres of the back of the field with 10 laps to go, when Bayley Simpson and Ian Currie (Kallisto-FCV) went to the front and buried themselves to keep Jamieson from lapping the field.

This left Perry and Taylor as the only riders up two laps, with Jamieson up one lap. As the laps came down, Perry attacked Taylor and was able to hold him at bay to take his second win of the night.

The FCV wishes everyone a very Merry Christmas. The next racing at the FCV will be the 2015 FCV Youth Championship on New Years Day. All Youth Categories will be competing in a five event timed Omnium. U11, U13, U15, U17 & U19 riders are welcome to attend.

For more information about programs at the FCV, please go to the website:

Report courtesy Rob Good


Full results (PDF)

Results highlights

Elite Points Race
1 Benjamin Perry 32
2 Adam Jamieson 20
3 Lucas Taylor 14
4 Simon Fothergill 12
5 Steve Mckee 8
6 Mark Palma 7
7 Garnet Abbey 4
8 Thierry Kirovac-Mariassa 4
9 Jordan Jones 3
10 James Orton 1
11 Ian Currie 1
Women/Cadets Sprint
Final for Gold
1 Sara Byers
2 Charlotte Creswicke
Final for Bronze
3 Candice Vermeulen
4 Jamie Gilgen
Men Sprint
Final for Gold
1 Eric Mcdonald
2 Lucas Taylor
Final for Bronze
3 Jeland Sydney
4 Bayley Simpson
Group A Endurance, 80 laps
1 Benjamin Perry
2 Lucas Taylor
3 Adam Jamieson
James Orton
Mark Palma
Bayley Simpson
Garnet Abbey
Jordan Jones
Ian Currie
1 Team Green (Abbey/Wammes)
2 Team Purple (Taylor/Palma)
3 Team Yellow (Mrowiec/Currie)
4 Team Red (Simpson/Correa)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.