Canadian Cyclist


December 15/14 10:04 am - Vote for the Canadian Cyclists of the Year! - Update

Posted by Editor on 12/15/14

There are only two days left to cast your ballot the 18th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards! We have already surpassed the number of ballots cast last year in our three categories:

Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Female
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Male
Best Individual Performance

Over the weekend we saw a surge for Quebec athletes and significant changes in the standings. This year there has been considerable activity on social media as supporters for each of our nominees get the vote out.

In the voting for the top woman, Mountain Bike World Champion Catharine Pendrel took an early lead and continues to hold the top spot. Triple National Road Champion Leah Kirchmann is still in second, but world Team Time Trial champion Karol-Ann Canuel has passed track star Jasmin Glaesser to move into third.

The men's race has seen a change in the lead, with Giro jersey wearer Svein Tuft losing his lead over Under-23 mountain bike champion Leandre Bouchard, who has moved into first place. Commonwealth Games bronze medalist Remi Pelletier-Roy is in third, but also close to overtaking Tuft in the standings.

The voting for the top Individual Performance is dominated by Canadian women, with Pendrel's world championship winning ride ranked first, followed by a tie between the world championship silver medal ride of the Women's Team Pursuit squad and Canuel's Team Time Trial ride. Behind them we have another tie between Leah Kirchmann's La Course third place and Pelletier-Roy's bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games.

The rider voting procedure reflects the fact that it can be difficult to select just one athlete to vote for. Instead, you will be able to rank your preferences, with the top rank receiving 5 points, the second receiving 4 points, etc. The athlete (and performance) receiving the highest average "grade" wins.

From your votes we will select the top Canadian Cyclists of 2014.

Voting will close at 8:00 pm EST (5:00 pm PST) on December 17th, so Vote Now!


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.