Canadian Cyclist


July 21/00 10:58 am - B.C. Takes National Team Relay Title

Posted by Editor on 07/21/00

B.C. Takes Team Relay

They almost finished in the dark, but we do have our first victors of the 2000 Mountain Bike Nationals. The Dual was cancelled, due to lack of participants (only 15 total entrants when the organizers pulled the plug), but the Team Relay went ahead with 7 teams of 4. Team B.C. were the winners, leading from start to finish, followed by Team Ontario and then Trek-VW.

"It was a little mucky, but the main problem was that it was so dark in the single track that I had trouble seeing where I was going", said Gina Grain, after she crossed the line to give B.C. the national title.

Each rider did 2 laps of a 3 kilometre circuit. B.C.'s Ricky Federau took the lead from the gun and never looked back. Behind, Trek-VW started out in second, but Ontario's second rider - Ryan Savoy - passed his competitor (Vincent St-Germain) to move his team into the silver medal position.

Race Notes

- Alison Sydor will be missing the Nationals for the second year in a row. Last year it was because she was competing in the Tour Feminine in France, this year because she needs a break after all her travel, and will be starting a road race (Altoona) next Tuesday. At this point the road miles will be better for her preparation for Sydney. However, it is too bad because it will deprive her fans from getting a chance to see her before she heads off to Australia.

- The downhill, contrary to previously published reports, is back in the same location as last year - 3 kilometres down the road from the main chalet.

- Some ignorant person has stolen Chrissy Redden's cycling shoes! She went into the women's washroom to change, and walked out without her shoes. Went back 3 minutes later to get them and they were gone. Size 36 Northwave, in the red and yellow team colours of Gary Fisher-Saab. If you come across them, please take them to the information desk at the main lodge at Camp Fortune. No questions asked.

Team Relay Podium


1. Team B.C. (Ricky Federau, Jaimie Douglas, Chad Miles, Gina Grain) 1:08:16
2. Team Ontario (Rod Smit, Ryan Savoy, Lisa Homgren, Greg Reain) 1:11:49
3. Trek-Volkswagen (Mathieu Darveau, Vincent St-Germain, Julie Brabant, Guido Visser) 1:15:17
4. Team Alberta (Grant Laird, Ann Yew, Carl Morisson, Roddi Lega) 1:15:31
5. Kunstadt Sports (Imad El-Ghazali, Brent Schmidt, Dustin Hittel, Lucie Slade) 1:20:40
6. Team Waterloo (Neil Dignan, Jamie Shankland, Heather Johnson, Chris Crawford) 1:24:38
7. Team Gears Racing (Craig Hawkes, Mark Bonham, Sue Tringle, Kevin Haviland) 1:27:10


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.