Canadian Cyclist


January 30/15 11:00 am - Mallorca Challenge: Trofeo Andratx - Mirador d'Es Colomer results

Posted by Editoress on 01/30/15

Steve Cummings (MTN-Qhubeka) won the second day of the XXIV Playa de Palma-Mallorca Cycling Challenge, the Trophy Andratx-Mirador d'Es Colomer after 149 kilometres.

Cummings won the sprint at the top of Mirador d'Es Colomer after a mountainous day which included the passage of two category 3 and one category 2 climbs. Spain's Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Italian Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Garmin) completed the podium. The climb to the Mirador d'Es Colomer started with a selection of 20 riders, from which Cummings  attacked to take the sprint over Valverde. Formolo arrived at another 6 seconds, beating Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing) and Leopold König (Team Sky) to teh line.

The the break of the day was lead by Dutchman Dylan Van Baarle (Cannondale-Garmin),South Africa's Johann Van Zyl (MTN-Qhubeka) and Portugal's José Gonçalves (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA).  The trio managed to elude the efforts of the peloton until the base of the last climb, the final 3 kilometres of the day.


Brief results from the second day of the Playa de Palma Challenge Ciclista Mallorca (Mallorca Challenge) in Spain.


Trofeo Andratx to Mirador d'Es Colomer, 149 km
1 Stephen Cummings (GBr) MTN-Qhubeka, 3:56:30
2 Alejandro Valverde (Edp) Movistar, at s.t.
3 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin, 0:06
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
5 Leopold König (Cze) Team Sky, both s.t.
6 Beñat Intxausti (Esp) Movistar, 0:13
7 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Team Sky, 0:15
8 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team
9 Ian Boswell (USA) Team Sky
10 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal, all s.t.

130 Dominique Rollin (Can) Cofidis, Solutions Credits, 17:14


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.