Canadian Cyclist


March 22/15 10:48 am - Stage One of the Tour de Taiwan - Team Smartstop report

Posted by Editoress on 03/22/15

Team SmartStop played it cautious in the first stage of the Tour de Taiwan on Saturday. Facing a short 54km Taipei City Circuit, the five-man team used the stage to get their legs back into racing and save themselves for the coming stages.

Since the stage was so short, breakaways were hard to establish and teams weren't giving anyone more than 30 seconds up the road.  Many tried, including SmartStop's Eric Marcotte and Rob Britton, but Sporting Director Michael Roecklein said that nothing materialized and it was a difficult race for one team to control.

"Rob joined a small break with Eric bridging across, however, no break was ever given more than 25 seconds," said Roecklein, "The peloton stayed in tact for almost the entire 54km."

A small group of three made their way in front of the peloton in the closing circuits but was reeled in with 3km to go.

"The last 10km were very chaotic with guys constantly locking their brakes to avoid each other, and there was a small crash in front of Zach with 200m to go but luckily the two-man crash was the only time riders hit the deck," said Roecklein.

Zach Bell, the Team Captain, said the first stage of the Tour de Taiwan was "just a day to get the legs under the guys." Jure Kocjan took a shot at the sprint but it wasn't to be and he finished in 12th.

Wouter Wippert of Drapac Professional Cycling won the stage.

"It was short and so easy that the end was just a mass of guys plugging the road," said Zach, "The guys stayed safe, saved their legs for the rest of the race and Jure tried to position himself for the sprint, but the way the group was made it hard for him to set up and save his legs too."

Tomorrow will take the riders 137km in the Taoyuan Road Race.  The stage features one sprint and two KOM's.

"I expect a break will go up the road until the stronger teams decide it is time to battle for the stage win and likely yellow," said Roecklein, "Eric really likes the finish for himself and he is coming off some success at the Tucson Bicycle Class, so we will see what he can do."


Taipei City Circuit, 52 km
1 Wouter Wippert (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling 1:04:54
2 Aldo Ino Ilesic (Slo) Team Vorarlberg
3 Keon Woo Park (Kor) National Team Südkorea
4 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
5 Po Hung Wu (Tpe) National Team Taiwan
6 Nikolai Tefre Lunder (Nor) Team Frøy - Oslo
7 Oleksandr Surutkovych (Ukr) Synergy Baku Cycling Project
8 Neil Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Avanti Racing Team
9 Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) Team Ukyo
10 Yasuharu Nakajima (Jpn) National Team Japan
11 Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre) Synergy Baku Cycling Project
12 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Team SmartStop
13 Boris Shpilevskiy (Rus) RTS - Santic Racing Team
14 Mehdi Sohrabi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
15 Tino Thömel (Ger) RTS - Santic Racing Team
16 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti Racing Team
17 Vadim Shaekhov (Uzb) National Team Usbekistan
18 Nikodemus Holler (Ger) Bike Aid
19 Bob Schoonbroodt (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
20 Maarten De Jonge (Ned) Bike Aid
21 Jonas Tenbrock (Ger) Team Stölting
22 Sun Jae Jang (Kor) RTS - Santic Racing Team
23 Burr Ho (HKg) National Team Hongkong
24 Jacob Schwingboth (Can) Bike Aid
25 Yannick Mayer (Ger) Bike Aid
26 Oleg Zemlyakov (Kaz) Vino 4ever
27 Chun Wing Leung (HKg) National Team Hongkong
28 Christoph Springer (Ger) Team Vorarlberg
29 Vladislav Galyanov (Uzb) National Team Usbekistan
30 Yevgeniy Gidich (Kaz) Vino 4ever
31 Markus Eibegger (Aut) Synergy Baku Cycling Project
32 Siu Wai Ko (HKg) National Team Hongkong
33 Patrick Jäger (Aut) Team Vorarlberg
34 Nils Politt (Ger) Team Stölting
35 Taras Voropayev (Kaz) Vino 4ever
36 Phuchong Sai-Udomsil (Tha) National Team Thailand
37 Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Team Ukyo
38 Don Gin Shin (Kor) National Team Südkorea
39 Jurgen Van Diemen (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
40 Tan Peng Yuan (Tpe) National Team Taiwan
41 Adam Phelan (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
42 Bernard Sulzberger (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
43 Shu Ming Liu (Tpe) National Team Taiwan
44 Alexandr Shushemoin (Kaz) Vino 4ever
45 Ching Ying Mow (HKg) National Team Hongkong
46 Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya - Blitzen
47 Hossein Askari (IRI) Pishgaman - Giant Team
48 Elchin Asadov (Aze) Synergy Baku Cycling Project
49 Travis Meyer (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
50 Chun Kai Feng (Tpe) National Team Taiwan
51 Amir Zargari (IRI) Pishgaman - Giant Team
52 Thomas Davison (NZl) Avanti Racing Team
53 Jasper Ockeloen (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
54 Yusup Abrekov (Uzb) National Team Usbekistan
55 Stepan Astafyev (Kaz) Vino 4ever
56 Kyeongho Min (Kor) National Team Südkorea
57 Ching Feng Liu (Tpe) National Team Taiwan
58 Ilya Gorodnichev (Rus) RTS - Santic Racing Team
59 Eric Marcotte (USA) Team SmartStop
60 Amir Kolahdozhagh (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
61 Peter Schulting (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
62 Anders Kristoffersen (Nor) Team Frøy - Oslo
63 Christoph Schweizer (Ger) Bike Aid
64 Samir Jabrayilov (Aze) Synergy Baku Cycling Project
65 Zach Bell (Can) Team SmartStop
66 Kohei Uchima (Jpn) National Team Japan
67 Salvador Guardiola Tora (Esp) Team Ukyo
68 Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya - Blitzen
69 Abdullojon Akparov (Uzb) National Team Usbekistan
70 Arvin Moazemi Goudarzi (IRI) Pishgaman - Giant Team
71 Kazuki Aoyanagi (Jpn) Utsunomiya - Blitzen
72 Halvor Tandrevold (Nor) Team Frøy - Oslo
73 Pablo Urtasun Perez (Esp) Team Ukyo
74 Jon Soeveras Breivold (Nor) Team Frøy - Oslo
75 Víctor De La Parte (Esp) Team Vorarlberg
76 Ahad Kazemi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
77 Vladimir Zagorodniy (Rus) RTS - Santic Racing Team
78 Thomas Koep (Ger) Team Stölting
79 Setthawut Yordsuwan (Tha) National Team Thailand
80 Joseph Cooper (NZl) Avanti Racing Team
81 Jan Oelerich (Ger) Team Stölting
82 Mirsamad Pourseyedi Golakhour (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
83 James Early (NZl) Team Stölting
84 Scott Ambrose (NZl) Team Novo Nordisk
85 Hamid Beykhormazi (IRI) Pishgaman - Giant Team
86 Corentin Cherhal (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk
87 Rob Britton (Can) Team SmartStop
88 Julian Kyer (USA) Team SmartStop
89 Mark O'Brien (Aus) Avanti Racing Team
90 Shotaro Iribe (Jpn) National Team Japan
91 Peerapong Ladngern (Tha) National Team Thailand
92 Nawuti Liphongyu (Tha) National Team Thailand
93 Ok Cheol Kim (Kor) National Team Südkorea
94 Oscar Pujol Munoz (Esp) Team Ukyo
95 Simon Strobel (Ger) Team Novo Nordisk
96 Ghader Mizbani Iranagh (IRI) Tabriz Petrochemical Team
97 Hyeong Min Choe (Kor) National Team Südkorea
98 Darren Lapthorne (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
99 Damien Garcia (Fra) Team Frøy - Oslo
100 Muradjan Halmuratov (Uzb) National Team Usbekistan
101 Rahim Emami (IRI) Pishgaman - Giant Team
102 Stephen Clancy (Irl) Team Novo Nordisk
103 Ho San Chiu (HKg) National Team Hongkong
104 Shinri Suzuki (Jpn) Utsunomiya - Blitzen
105 Clément Koretzky (Fra) Team Vorarlberg
106 Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Utsunomiya - Blitzen
107 Junya Sano (Jpn) National Team Japan
108 Sarawut Sirionnachai (Tha) National Team Thailand
109 Hideto Nakane (Jpn) National Team Japan
110 James Glasspool (Aus) Team Novo Nordisk all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.