Canadian Cyclist


July 23/00 5:11 am - Miles Wins Men's XC Title

Posted by Editor on 07/23/00

MTB Nationals

Elite Men (Unofficial)

1. Chad Miles Team BC/Corsa Cycle 2:29:38
2. Geoff Kabush Kona Factory at 4:32
3. Andreas Hestler Ford-Devinci at 6:39
4. Peter Wedge Kona-Mapei at 9:11
5. Seamus McGrath Haro-Lee Dungarees at 10:05
6. Marc Cousineau Cove Bikes at 10:22
7. Julian Hine Schwinn-Toyota 10:24
8. Marc Sonntag Kona Factory 11:54
9. Eric Tourville Oryx-Procycle 12:11
10. Lucas Curran Lexamark/Intense/Spy 13:00

First Espoir was Ryder Hesjedal (Gary Fisher-Saab), who was third overall. Seamus McGrath flatted on the fifth lap, while riding with Geoff Kabush. He then had severe chainsuck problems for the remaining lap and a half. Kabush's first Olympic qualifier finish should guarantee him a spot on the men's Olympic squad. However, the selection committee is about to meet, and will have a decision sometime this evening. They have promised to let us know as soon as possible.

Full results, story and photos to follow.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.