Canadian Cyclist


May 1/15 10:02 am - Tour of California Announces Roster for Women's TT

Posted by Editoress on 05/1/15

Preparing to face off for a thrilling Amgen Tour of California Invitational Time Trial at Big Bear Lake on Friday, May 15th, is the strongest assembly of women cyclists in race history. Six Canadians will participate.

The roster of the fifth annual women's Invitational Time Trial includes previous Amgen Tour of California winners and World, National and Olympic Champions. Among the lineup of 23 will be Lisa Brennauer, reigning Individual and Team Time Trial World Champion (on her winning team were 2013 USA National Time Trial Champion Carmen Small and 2013 Amgen Tour of California Champion Evelyn Stevens, both of whom will be racing as well); two-time Amgen Tour of California Time Trial winner and Olympic Champion Kristin Armstrong; Amber Neben, who has held multiple national and world titles in road racing and time trial; para-cycling powerhouse Sarah Storey; and Tayler Wiles, who placed third in last year's Amgen Tour of California Time Trial.

"The Amgen Tour of California has always been a place where the best women in the world can come to race in an international forum. This year, the competition is steeper than ever," said Evelyn Stevens, who will be riding for Boels Dolmans Cycling Team.

Beginning at 11 a.m. on May 15th, the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) sanctioned Amgen Tour of California Women's Invitational Time Trial empowered with SRAM will precede the men's Individual Time Trial (Stage 6). The 15.1-mile race is ranked 1.1 by the UCI, the highest race classification behind a World Cup.

"I was planning to retire until I learned I had the opportunity to race in the 2015 Amgen Tour of California. It's a race worth sticking around for, and I'm thrilled to be a part of it," said BMW's p/b Happy Tooth Dental Rhae Shaw, who recently won the time trial in Big Bear Lake as part of the Redlands Bicycle Classic.

Competitors in the 2015 Amgen Tour of California Women's Invitational Time Trial empowered with SRAM are:

Maria Carla Alvarez (Xirayas de San Luis, ARG)
Kristin Armstrong (Twenty16 p/b Sho-Air, USA)
Maddie Boutet (Team USA Cycling, USA)
Lisa Brennauer (Velocio-SRAM, GER)
Laura Brown (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team, CAN)
Karol Ann Canuel (Velocio-SRAM, CAN)
Ana Teresa Casa (Mexico National Team, MEX)
Jackie Crowell (Breakaway from Cancer, USA)
Allie Dragoo (Twenty16 p/b Sho-Air, USA)
Jasmin Glaesser (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies, CAN)
Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, USA)
Amber Neben (Visit Dallas Cycling p/b Noise4Good, USA)
Rhae Shaw (BMW p/b Happy Tooth Dental, CAN)
Carmen Small (Twenty16 p/b Sho-Air, USA)
Lauren Stephens (TeamTIBCO-SVB, USA)
Evelyn Stevens (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, USA)
Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International, GBR)
Alison Tetrick (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies, USA)
Anika Todd (TeamTIBCO-SVB, CAN)
Linda Villumsen (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team, NZL)
Emma White (Team USA Cycling, USA)
Tara Whitten (Canada National Team, CAN)
Tayler Wiles (Velocio-SRAM, USA)

At 6,752 feet, the fast and flat 15.1-mile course will feature one of the most beautiful lakes in California. Beginning in the Village in Big Bear Lake, the cyclists will wind counterclockwise around the lake via shore roads and neighborhoods, doubling back around the halfway point to finish on the 1,000-foot jetty near Stone Road.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.