Canadian Cyclist


May 15/15 12:18 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 7

Posted by Editoress on 05/15/15

Italy's Diego Ulissi (Lampre - Merida) won stage seven of the 2015 Giro d'Italia, from Grosseto to Fiuggi (264km). Alberto Contador (Tinkoff - Saxo) retains the Maglia Rosa of General Classification leader.










The stage winner, Diego Ulissi, said:
There are some big sprinters here, so I knew I wasn't the number 1 favourite today, but I had great legs. I went early because I was afraid of getting caught from behind. This is a special win for me after the difficult year I've had, and I want to thank my family - my wife, my parents and my in-laws - and also my friends for all their support.

The Maglia Rosa, Alberto Contador, said:
It was a hard day for me but I'm happy because I got through it. After three and a half or four hours, I didn't know what to do with my arm, but I hope and trust that, as the days past, it will improve. Tomorrow is a stage that I was looking forward too. Now it's going to be hard for me, and I expect attacks. Now I'm just thinking of resting and putting ice on my shoulder. Then we'll see.



Brief results from today's seventh stage


Stage 7: Grosseto to Fiuggi, 264 km
1 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida, 7:22:21
2 Juan José Lobato Del Valle (Esp) Movistar Team
3 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE
4 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Southeast
5 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani Csf
6 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Csf
7 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing
8 Grega Bole (Slo) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
9 Kévin Réza (Fra) FDJ
10 Sergey Lagutin (Rus) Team Katusha, all s.t.

27 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Cannondale - Garmin, 0:03
63 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale, s.t.


1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Esp) Tinkoff - Saxo, 27:48:00
2 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team, at 0:02
3 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky, 0:20
4 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff - Saxo, 0:22
5 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team, 0:28

29 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Cannondale - Garmin, 6:11
105 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale, 55:29


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.