Canadian Cyclist


July 3/15 22:52 pm - Nyhaug & Walsh Defend TT Titles at BMX Nationals

Posted by Editoress on 07/3/15

The 2015 Canadian BMX Championships kicked off in Drummondville, QC, on Friday. The first day of racing began with the Time Trial SuperFinals, and the two reigning Canadian Champions successfully defended their Time Trial titles with imposing victories.

These championships are being held for the second consecutive year in the tourist region of Centre-du-Québec. This year's championships are part of Drummondville’s 200th-anniversary celebrations.

Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, BC, completed the track with a time of 33.000 seconds to earn his ninth Canadian Elite title, undefeated at Canadian Championships since turning Elite in 2011. Jimmy Brown (Airdrie BMX) posted the second fastest time of 33.545 for the silver medal while James Palmer (Team BC) took third with a time of 33.982 seconds.

In the tightly contested Junior men's category, two-time Challenge World Champion Alex Tougas (Team BC) earned his career first Red and White jersey, winning the Superfinals with a time of 33.475 seconds. Local rider Gaby Malenfant (BMX Drummond), who was selected earlier this week as the first Quebec BMXer to compete at the World Championships, finished in second place, while Deven Kawa (Alberta Bicycle) took third.

Amelia Walsh (GT Bicycles) of Ayr, ON, was the fastest of the elite women's field, earning the top place with a time of 39.154 seconds. Chelsea Kingston (Medicine Hat BMX) finished second while Erin Kinnie (Team BC) placed third.

Daina Tuchscherer (Alberta Bicycle) easily won the Junior women category with a time of 39.482s, close to 2.5 seconds ahead of Mégane Bélanger (Team Quebec) and 3.8 seconds in front of Brianne Vanderkuip (Alberta Bicycle).

The BMX Championships Motos will take place Saturday, and the Canada Cup BMX series will be featured on Sunday.

Nyhaug, Walsh, Brown, and Tuchscherer will race for Canada next weekend at the upcoming Pan-American Games.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.