Canadian Cyclist


September 18/15 21:09 pm - Hamilton Foundation Funds Junior Worlds Athletes

Posted by Editoress on 09/18/15

The legacy of the 2003 UCI Road World Championships in Hamilton, Ontario, keeps on giving, 12 years after the event took place.

The Hamilton 2003 Road Cycling Foundation was established to support programs regarding long term development of young road athletes from Junior ranks to professional teams, and to support national talent identification of young road athletes.

Over the years, the Foundation has assisted numerous riders through carding and support of the national programs for development riders. Athletes such as David Veilleux, Hugo Houle, Antoine Duchesne, Julie Beveridge, Joelle Numainville and Leah Kirchmann were all beneficiaries of the program over recent years, which ultimately assisted their establishment on professional teams.

As a result of discussions between the Hamilton Foundation Board and Cycling Canada, we are pleased to announce that the Foundation will be supporting the 2015 Junior World Championships program for those athletes selected. All eight Junior cyclists set to represent Canada at this event have received funding grants to help cover their expenses.

Linda Jackson is the Chair of the Hamilton 2003 Road Cycling Foundation. The former Olympian, multiple National Champion and World Championship medalist, and now Women’s Team Founder (TIBCO), has continued to contribute to the sport long after her retirement from competition. She is joined by former CCA President Brian Jolly, Maxime Vives, Steve Bauer, Pierre Hutsebaut and Greg Mathieu on the Foundation Board.

"When the Board reviewed the plan for the 2015 Road & Track Programs, we were pleased to see the depth of the program to be offered and to know that many up and coming Junior riders will be involved," said Jackson. "At the same time we are also aware of the substantial costs that families face when their daughters or sons are selected to development level projects.  For that reason we are pleased to support this program."

The 2015 edition of the Road World Championships will take place September 20-27 in Richmond, Virginia.  Named to the World Junior team are: Gillian Ellsay, Liah Harvie, Katherine Maine and Gabby Traxler on the women's side and William Boersma, Derek Gee, Adam Roberge and Joel Taylor on the men's.

Cycling Canada press release - edited


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.