Canadian Cyclist


October 6/15 9:09 am - University Cup Championship report and results

Posted by Editoress on 10/6/15

Queen's University Cycling wins Sixth Consecutive University Cup Championship

On Sunday October 4th at the Ganaraska Forest Center near Port Hope Ontario, Ontario college and university student mountain bikers completed in the 4th of 4 race weekends of the University Cup race series.

Queen’s University emerged victorious as Provincial Champions for a record 6th year in a row.

The Universities of Toronto and Guelph put in a strong bid, but were outdone yet again by the strength, talent and commitment of this year's top notch Queen's riders.
The Gaels mountain bikers accomplished a result unprecedented in University Cup history by winning all four individual Men's and Women's categories combined over the four race weekends.

Another first ever at the University Cup was a Men's A podium sweep by Queen's. Gold, silver and bronze went to Cameron McPhaden, Stuart Thibert, and Chris Fruetel, all of whom had strong performances and multiple podiums over the course of the season.
In addition to taking the overall win for the first time in his five year University Cup career, McPhaden concluded the race series with a win at Ganaraska over the other elite riders in Men's A by nearly six minutes. McPhaden swept the entire series by winning all four elite men's race weekends.
In Women's A, fourth year kinesiology student, Andrea Burley, won the overall elite women's title. Burley had a great gold medal win at this weekend's race against a season-long rival Allison Sauder from University of Guelph. Burley has made tremendous improvement over her four seasons of University Cup racing, starting as a mid-pack B rider to becoming the fastest woman in Ontario.

Men's B was dominated by a pair of Queen's riders, Patrick Farrell and Mike Fader, who took the lead early on and never looked back, securing gold and silver respectively. Farrell and Fader, both third year mechanical engineers who used to aim for top 10's, are now securing podiums at every race weekend. Peter Wen of the University of Toronto took the bronze.
In Women's B, Amanda Schevers won her second race of the series to secure the overall title. Jenifer Hogg and Ralitza Dimova both from the University of Guelph took silver and bronze at “Ganny”.


U-CUP Race #4 Results

Men A Division
1. Cameron McPhaden - Queen's University
2. Stuary Thibert - Queen's University
3. Chris Fruetel - Queen's University

Women A Division
1. Andrea Burley - Queen's University
2. Allison Sauder - University of Guelph
3. Hannah Simms - Queen's University

Men B Division
1. Patrick Farrell - Queen's University
2. Michael Fader - Queen's University
3. Peter Wen - University of Toronto

Women B Division
1. Amanda Schevers - Queen's University
2. Jennifer Hogg - University of Guelph
3. Ralitza Dimova - University of Guelph

Overall Standings

Men's A Division - Cameron McPhaden - Queen's University
Women A Division - Andrea Burley - Queen's University
Men's B Division - Patrick Farrell - Queen's University
Women's B Division - Amanda Schevers - Queen's University

2015 Team Champions- Queen's University

Full results

All registered university and colleges students are eligible to race. New U-Cup season starts next September


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.