Canadian Cyclist


October 31/15 13:50 pm - Cycling Canada Conference & Awards

Posted by Editor on 10/31/15

On the final weekend of October, Cycling Canada held its first Annual Conference in St John's, Newfoundland. As a result of the necessary changes to by-laws to comply with the new Canada Not-for-Profit Act, the Annual Meeting was held via conference call in late September to deal with required business items, including elections, approval of the audited financial statements and the appointment of the auditors for 2015-16. [See Cycling Canada AGM Report]

However, the meetings for the Board, Inter-provincial Council and workshops across topics ranging from Growing Women's Participation, Domestic Development, Canada Games and Anti-doping issues, took place in St John's.



Provincial delegates discuss ways to improve female participation

Photo gallery

From the Women's Participation workshop it was announced that a Task Force will be developed to deal with the issue of growing women's participation. Cycling Canada Board member Hannah Parish spoke to us about the Task Force:

In addition, the following Awards were presented:.

Event/Organizer of the Year

Road - Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal & Quebec - GPCQM

Mountain Bike - Mont-Ste-Anne UCI MTB World Cup / UCI Champoninnats Du Monde - Mont-Ste-Anne / Gestev

BMX - Canadian Championships & Canada Cup #5 / Championnats canadiens & Coupe Canada #5 - Drummondville, QC

Paracycling- Global Relay Canadian Road Championships/Championnats canadiens sur route Global Relay - St-Georges, QC

Cyclocross - Winnipeg Cyclocross Canadian Championships & Manitoba grand Prix of Cyclocross - Manitoba Cycling Association

Track - Milton International Challenge / Cycling Canada



Quebec was the big winner for awards, with 8

Photo gallery

National Commissaire of the Year 2014 - Johanne Binet

International Commissaire of the Year 2014 - Wayne Pomario

Russ Copeland Award - Gillian Ellsay (Road)
• 8th place in the Junior women's individual time trial at the 2015 Road World championships

President's Trophy - Monique Sullivan (Track)
• 4th place at 2015 UCI Track World Championships
• Triple 2015 Pan Am Games gold Medallist (Sprint, Team Sprint and Keirin)
• Double gold medallist at the 2015 Pan American Championships (Sprint and Keirin)

Torchy Peden Award - Ontario for work on the Pan Am / Parapan Am Games

Builder of the Year - National Para-cycling coach Eric Van den Eynde

This award is for Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a builder and/or Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a coach, instructor, official or event organizer

Coaching Recognition Award - CC Coaching Development Committee wants to recognize the contributions of the outstanding coaches who dedicate their time and effort to ensuring that athletes are well supported in their preparation and in competition.

• Mountain Bike - Ian Hughes

• Para - Philippe Abbott

• Road/Route - Pierre Hutsebaut

• Track/Piste - Yannick Morin

Service Pins

5 years
Jason Howard / BC
Twila Cruickshank / MB
Andrea Wooles / BC

15 years
Glenesse Lapensee




Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.