Canadian Cyclist


May 8/16 13:47 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 3, Kittel in pink after stage win

Posted by Editoress on 05/8/16

Marcel Kittel of Etixx - Quick-Step made it two in a row by winning Stage 3 from Nijmegen to Arnhem (in the Netherlands), preceding the Italians Elia Viviani of Team Sky and Giacomo Nizzolo of Trek – Segafredo in the bunch gallop. The German sprinter also took the first Maglia Rosa of his career.

The long breakaway of the day was formed of Julen Amezqueta (Willier Triestina – Southeast), Johann van Zyl (Team Dimension Data), Giacomo Berlato (Nippo – Vini Fantini) and Maarten Tjallingii (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo). Berlato and Tjallingii were both in yesterday's long breakaway from Arnhem to Nijmegen. The quartet achieved its maximum lead of 8'10" at km 68.

Jean-Christophe Péraud of AG2R-La Mondiale crashed on a roundabout leaving the village of Borculo (km 86). The runner-up in the 2014 Tour de France became the first rider to abandon the 99th Giro d’Italia. Tjallingii took the lead in the King of the Mountains competition by cresting the only categorized climb of Stage 3 at Posbank (km 134) in first position.

Van Zyl forged on with 11km to go. He built a lead over the chasing peloton of almost one minute but he was brought back with 1.7km to go as the sprinters teams closed in on the stage finish.


Results from the third stage in the Netherlands


Stage 3: Nijmegen to Arnhem, 190 km
1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Etixx - Quick Step 4:23:45
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek - Segafredo
4 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto - Soudal
5 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Team Katusha
6 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Dimension Data
7 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNL - Jumbo
8 Arnaud Démare (Fra) FDJ
9 Rick Zabel (Ger) BMC Racing Team
10 Matej Mohoric (Slo) Lampre - Merida
11 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Wilier Triestina - Southeast
12 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE
13 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) IAM Cycling
14 Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani - CSF
15 Ivan Savitskiy (Rus) Gazprom - RusVelo
16 Alexey Tsatevich (Rus) Team Katusha
17 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Giant - Alpecin
18 Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani - CSF
19 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha
20 Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
76 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Trek - Segafredo all s.t.
154 Hugo Houle (Can) Ag2r La Mondiale 6:03
195 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE 7:39
1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Etixx - Quick Step 9:13:10
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant - Alpecin at 0:09
3 Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team 0:15
4 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Giant - Alpecin 00:17
5 Moreno Moser (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling Team 0:21
6 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx - Quick Step 0:22
7 Matthias Brändle (Aut) IAM Cycling 0:23
8 Roger Kluge (Ger) IAM Cycling 0:25
9 Chad Haga (USA) Team Giant - Alpecin s.t.
10 Georg Preidler (Ait) Team Giant - Alpecin 0:26
11 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:28
12 Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Etixx - Quick Step 0:29
13 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 0:30
14 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL - Jumbo 0:31
15 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek - Segafredo 0:32
16 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Esp) Movistar Team 0:33
17 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNL - Jumbo 0:34
18 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:37
19 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida 0:38
20 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky 0:39
29 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Trek - Segafredo 0:42
152 Hugo Houle (Can) Ag2r La Mondiale 7:02
170 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica - GreenEDGE 8:14



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.