Canadian Cyclist


September 25/00 9:34 am - BC News: Cyclocross season starts in Victoria

Posted by Editoress on 09/25/00

Hestler hops and runs!
Courtesy Steve Lund

Race #1 of the Victoria 2000 Cyclo-Cross series - September 24

Ford-Devinci pro mountain biker Andreas Hestler made his Cyclo-Cross intentions clear with a decisive win in his first Cyclo-Cross race. Andreas, one of the top NORBA Short Track riders put these skills to use, stringing out the field then leaving them behind. The course, on Victoria's inner harbor, was set up to suit a Cyclo-Cross specialist with a cross bike and Victoria's Cross specialist Carter Hovey was ready to take on Hestler. A dropped chain on the start loop, then a nice endo on a short steep descent by Carter allowed Andreas the gap he needed to stay away. Andreas proved himself to be very fast on the runs, as expected, but also showed great skill in his dismounts, which caught some of the cross specialists off guard. Carter managed to work his way up through the field to take second spot.

The next race in the series will be held at the Juan de Fuca Velodrome on October 8. Full details of the series can be found at

Open Men 40 minutes plus 3 laps
1. Andreas Hestler Ford-Devinci 54:44
2. Carter Hovey Redline 55:39
3. John Fakkema unnattached 58:46
4. Drew MacKenzie unnattached 59:04
5. Dan MacDonald Basic -1 lap
6. Sean Cruickshank Schwalbe -1 lap
7. Dave Vunic OGC-Fisher -1 lap
8. Jeff Blair West Shore -1 lap
9. Sam Whittingham Fairfeild -1 lap
10. Simon Norris -1 lap

Open Women 30 minutes plus 3 laps
1. Gina Grain Physical Culture 49:15
2. Melissa Lunstead Trek 50:09
3. Charlene Waldner Because 50:12
4. Sandra Walter ProWorks -1 lap

Entry Cross Men 30 minutes plus 3 laps
1. Clayton Payne Schwalbe 45:45
2. Dan Molgat-Roy Bike Cellar 46:30
3. Robin Gwyne Oak Bay 47:32
4. Mike Achuff unattached 47:51
5. Marc Burgess Physical Culture -1 lap


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.