Canadian Cyclist


September 28/16 12:53 pm - Woods Second at Milan-Torino

Posted by Editoress on 09/28/16

Canadian Mike Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) finished second on Wednesday at the 97th edition of the Milan-Torino, a 186 kilometre one day race in Italy.  Colombian Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) took the win, finishing nine seconds ahead of Woods, with Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) third at 14 seconds.



Continues below ad



"[Miguel Àngel López] was so strong today!" said Woods.  "I got a good head start on the [final] mountain climb. But he just paced it really well. I tried to attack him but I just wasn't as strong as him in the final. However I'm really happy with my performance. This is my fourth race in five days and to see how the legs reacted today, I'm very happy with that."



Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team (R) and Michael Woods (Cannondale Team) on the finish climb to Superga- photo ANSA/CLAUDIO PERI



Michael Woods, Miguel Angel Lopez, Rigoberto Uran Uran - photo ANSA/CLAUDIO PERI



San Giuliano Milanese - Torino, 186 km
1 Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Astana Pro Team 4:13:36
2 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro C.T. at 0:09
3 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac Pro C.T. 0:14
4 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Esp) Movistar Team 0:19
5 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida 0:21
6 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:23
7 Pello Bilbao Lopez (Esp) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:27
8 Rodolfo Andres Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec 0:32
9 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:36
10 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin 0:40
11 Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Esp) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
12 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky both s.t.
13 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:47
14 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:52
15 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec 1:02
16 Alessio Taliani (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec 1:10
17 Daniel Martínez (Col) Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
18 Pierre-Roger Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 1:14
19 Ben Hermans (Bel) BMC Racing Team 1:24
20 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini 1:26
45 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Trek-Segafredo 6:40



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.