Canadian Cyclist


November 13/16 16:49 pm - Tour du Rwanda: Prologue, Victory for

Posted by Editoress on 11/13/16

Timothy Rugg (Team kicked off his first race in Africa in style, giving his Canadian based team its first professional victory by winning the prologue of this year’s Tour du Rwanda.

The American rider scorched the 3.3 km course in Kigali, winning by two seconds over Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Dimension Data for Qhubeka).Last year’s overall runner-up Joseph Areruya (Les Amis Sportifs) finished third at three seconds.

“I am lost for words.This is amazing.To come here actually be able to take this win it unexpected.They are very strong opponents.I never expected this today but I will take the momentum and hopefully carry it on to the next stages.”

Timothy Rugg became the third rider from North America to win the prologue after Kiel Reijnen (USA) and Rémi Roy Pelletier (Canada) did it in 2011 and 2012 respectively.

“ I have a teammate who is maybe a little bit better than me in the climbing.We will try to keep the jersey but like I said there so many teams and the dynamic is difficult to control.We will give it our best shot.’”

The GC favorites including the last two winners Jean-Bosco Nsengimana and Valens Ndayisenga, sit fifth and sixth just 4 and 5 seconds behind the leader.

Tomorrow, the peloton will tackle a 96.4 kilometer stage from Kigali to Ngomba.

Tour of Rwanda


Stage winner and GC leader:Timothy Rugg (Team

Other GC
Best Climber: Guillaume Boivin (Canada – Cycling Academy Team)
Best Young Rider: Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eritrea – Dimension Data for Qhubeka)
Best African: Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eritrea – Dimension Data for Qhubeka)
Best Rwandan: Joseph Areruya (Rwanda – Les Amis Sportifs)


Prologue: Kigali ITT, 3.3 km
1 Timothy Rugg (USA) Team 4:00.25
2 Aman Ghebreigzabhier Werkilul (Eri) Dimension Data For Qhubeka 4:03.10
3 Joseph Areruya (Rwa) Les Amis Sportifs 4:03.95
4 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Cycling Academy Team 4:04.32
5 Jean Bosco Nsengimana (Rwa) Stradalli - Bike Aid 4:04.63
6 Valens Ndayisenga (Rwa) Dimension Data For Qhubeka 4:05.57
7 Temesgen Mebrahtu Buru (Eth) Ethiopia National Team 4:09.59
8 Brett Wachtendorf (USA) Team 4:10.48
9 Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Equipe Nationale 4:10.48
10 Patrick Byukusenge (Rwa) Club Benediction 4:10.50
11 Meron Amanuel (Eri) Stradalli - Bike Aid 4:10.79
12 Tesfom Okubamariam (Eri) Eritrea National Team 4:10.87
13 Bonaventure Uwizeyimana (Rwa) Dimension Data For Qhubeka 4:10.92
14 Sébastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) Haute-Savoie/Rhone-Alpe 4:11.39
15 Suleiman Kangangi (Ken) Kenyan Riders Downunder 4:11.55
16 Samuel Mugisha (Rwa) Club Benediction 4:11.63
17 Kibrom Hailay Giday (Eth) Ethiopia National Team 4:12.52
18 Calvin Beneke (RSA) South Africa National Team 4:12.67
19 Mornay Van Heerden (RSA) South Africa National Team 4:14.31
20 Edward Greene (RSA) Team 4:14.38
21 Richard Laizer (Tan) Stradalli - Bike Aid 4:14.71
22 Justin Paroz (Sui) Meubles Descartes Prod 4:15.11
23 Azzedine Lagab (Alg) Algeria National Team 4:15.14
24 Metkel Eyob (Eri) Dimension Data For Qhubeka 4:15.16
25 Zemenfes Solomon (Eri) Eritrea National Team 4:15.39
26 Gasore Hategeka (Rwa) Rwanda Equipe Nationale 4:15.61
27 Gérémie Francis Nzeke (Cmr) Snh Velo Club Cameroun 4:16.19
28 Wian-David Slabbert (RSA) South Africa National Team 4:16.95
29 Dimitri Bussard (Sui) Meubles Descartes Prod 4:17.02
30 Omer Goldshtein (Isr) Cycling Academy Team 4:18.08
31 Manuel Bosch (Sui) Meubles Descartes Prod 4:18.49
32 Cameron McPhaden (Can) Team 4:18.76
33 Jean-Claude Uwizeye (Rwa) Les Amis Sportifs 4:18.96
34 Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda Equipe Nationale 4:19.13
35 Nick Miller (NZl) Kenyan Riders Downunde 4:19.28
36 Samwel Mwangi (Ken) Kenyan Riders Downunde 4:20.31
37 Stephen Keeping (Can) Team 4:20.39
38 George Perrins (RSA) South Africa National Team 4:20.56
39 Joseph Gichora Kamau (Ken) Kenyan Riders Downunder 4:22.35
40 Kibrom Mehari (Eri) Eritrea National Team 4:23.43
41 Abderahmane Mehdi Hamza (Alg) Algeria National Team 4:23.61
42 Hervé Raoul Mba (Cmr) Snh Velo Club Cameroun 4:24.50
43 Estifanos Kebede Geberesilassie (Eth) Ethiopia National Team 4:24.67
44 Marko Pavlic (Slo) Cycling Academy Team 4:24.84
45 Abdelmalek Madani (Alg) Algeria National Team 4:25.28
46 Jérémie Karegeya (Rwa) Club Benediction 4:25.32
47 Clovis Kamzong Abossolo (Cmr) Snh Velo Club Cameroun 4:25.78
48 Kibrom Teklebrhan Haylemaryam (Eth) Ethiopia National Team 4:25.93
49 Roy Goldstein (Isr) Cycling Academy Team 4:26.12
50 Samuel Hakiruwizeye (Rwa) Les Amis Sportifs 4:26.45
51 Eric Nduwayo (Rwa) Rwanda Equipe Nationale 4:26.79
52 Oussama Mansouri (Alg) Algeria National Team 4:27.03
53 Elyas Afewerki (Eri) Eritrea National Team 4:27.41
54 Jean Ruberwa (Rwa) Club Benediction 4:27.63
55 Florian Hudry (Fra) Haute-Savoie/Rhone-Alpe 4:28.19
56 Dawit Haile (Eri) Eritrea National Team 4:28.98
57 Goytom Mebrahtu Biru (Eth) Ethiopia National Team 4:29.36
58 Khaled Abdennebi (Alg) Algeria National Team 4:29.48
59 Abraham Ruhumuriza (Rwa) Rwanda Equipe Nationale 4:29.68
60 Carl Bonthuys (RSA) South Africa National Te 4:29.92
61 Junrey A. Navarra (Phi) Dimension Data For Qhubeka 4:29.98
62 Michael Kyburz (Sui) Meubles Descartes Prod 4:29.99
63 Matthias Schnapka (Ger) Stradalli - Bike Aid 4:31.37
64 Ephrem Tuyishimire (Rwa) Les Amis Sportifs 4:34.03
65 David Polveroni (Fra) Haute-Savoie/Rhone-Alpe 4:34.61
66 Pierre-Meric Voisin (Fra) Haute-Savoie/Rhone-Alpe 4:35.01
67 Zohar Hadari (Isr) Cycling Academy Team 4:35.81
68 Silvio Busser (Sui) Meubles Descartes Prod 4:36.20
69 Robert Martial Fozing Dassie (Cmr) Snh Velo Club Cameroun 4:36.72
70 Alex Nizeyimana (Rwa) Club Benediction 4:37.15
71 Mathieu Twizerane (Rwa) Les Amis Sportifs 4:37.40
72 FOUKOU Damien Tekou (Cmr) Snh Velo Club Cameroun 4:42.50
73 Sylvain Clavel (Fra) Haute-Savoie/Rhone-Alpe 4:55.73



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.