Canadian Cyclist


December 19/16 8:48 am - Final 2 Days to Vote for Canadian Cyclist of the Year!

Posted by Editor on 12/19/16

Have you voted yet? There are two days left to register your choices in the 20th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards! After thousands of votes, we still have virtual ties in some categories, so every vote matters. Voting ends at 8:00 pm EDT on Wednesday, December 21st.

This year we added a Para category to our three usual categories:

Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Female
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Male
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Para
Best Individual Performance

With 2016 being an Olympic/Paralympic year - and with Canadians performing so well across so many disciplines - it has already become an interesting vote.

Olympic bronze medalist Catharine Pendrel leads the voting for best Female rider, but the bronze medal winning Women's Team Pursuit squad is still in contention, and Emily Batty, the 2015 winner, sits not far back in third. The voting for best Male athlete is tied, with Junior world champion Stefan Ritter and WorldTour road pro Mike Woods neck and neck. Woods has seen a huge surge in votes over the weekend after his team urged supporters to vote for him. Ryan Roth, the top Canadian at the Road Worlds is also close enough in the tally to still surprise. In the Para category, Paralympic gold medalist Tristen Chernove has opening a sizable lead, but silver medalist Ross Wilson is still in contention. Chernove also leads the voting for Best Performance, followed by Pendrel and Ritter. However, Batty, Woods, and both the Men's and Women's Team Pursuit performances are in contention.

The rider voting procedure reflects the fact that it can be difficult to select just one athlete or performance to vote for. Instead, you will be able to rank your preferences, with the top rank receiving 5 points, the second receiving 4 points, etc. The athlete (and performance) receiving the highest average "grade" wins. For Best Individual Performance we will pick the top three.

From your votes we will select the top Canadian Cyclists of 2016, so make sure you get your vote counted.

Vote Now


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.