Canadian Cyclist


January 17/17 11:45 am - Tour Down Under: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 01/17/17

People’s Choice Classic winner Caleb Ewan has backed up his performance of two days ago to take out the opening stage and the first leader’s jersey of the Tour Down Under for ORICA-SCOTT in Lyndoch.

Race organisers decided to shorten the day’s racing from 145km to 118km, as scorching conditions saw the temperature hit 40 degrees.

In what was a close finish, the 22-year-old just got the better of Danny Van Poppel (SKY) and Sam Bennett (BOR) having once again been dropped off by new teammate Roger Kluge.

Ewan, who won the same stage in 2016, was pleased to come away with the victory after a tough day on the bike and a messy bunch sprint.

“It was really stinking hot out there today,” Ewan said at the finish line. “I think everyone felt the heat and it was probably a good idea for organisers to shorten it a little bit.

“I’m super happy to get the win, it was a really close one in the end. A lot of guys ran out of lead out men in that last straight because there was a bit of head wind.

“There was a lot of pressure coming back here with the same finish as last year. I felt the pressure to do the same thing and win. It’s a relief and it’s a great start to the week. It’ll put the whole team on a high and hopefully we can do something like last year.”

Throughout the day, teammate and four-time winner Simon Gerrans picked up two bonus seconds at the intermediate sprints in support of the general classification ambitions of the team.

“We said that if there was only one or two guys going up the road that we would try to get the one or two seconds,” Ewan said.

“If we look back at recent years, it’s always come down to a couple of seconds so all of those bonus seconds are really crucial in the end.”

How it happened:

The peloton left Unley for the opening day of the Tour Down Under in scorching conditions.

Lauren De Vresse (Astana Pro Team) was the only rider brave enough to launch off the front which formed a situation comfortable enough for the peloton to relax the pace.

Race organisers made the call to reduce the stage, a decision well supported in the peloton.

ORICA-SCOTT patrolled the bunch, mostly thanks to the work of Damien Howson, leaving De Vresse out in the heat for the majority of the race.

A couple of late counter attacks were unsuccessful before the race came back together in the final five kilometres for the bunch sprint.

Courtesy Orica-Scott

Stage 1: Unley to Lyndoch, 118 km
1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott 3:24:18
2 Danny van Poppel (Ned) Team Sky
3 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Marko Kump (Slo) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
5 Niccolò Bonifazio (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
6 Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb
7 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
8 Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
9 Miles Scotson (Aus) BMC Racing Team
10 Sean De Bie (Bel) Lotto Soudal
11 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Dimension Data
12 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe
13 Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) FDJ
14 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
15 Carlos Barbero Cuesta (Esp) Movistar Team
16 Robert Wagner (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
17 Jasha Sütterlin (Ger) Movistar Team
18 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
19 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale-Drapac
20 Tiago Machado (Por) Katusha-Alpecin
21 Chris Hamilton (Aus) Team Sunweb
22 Matti Breschel (Den) Astana Pro Team
23 Jack Bauer (NZl) Quick-Step Floors
24 Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data
25 Rafael Valls (Esp) Lotto Soudal
26 Nathan Earle (Aus) UniSA-Australia
27 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
28 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Quick-Step Floors
29 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
30 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Lotto Soudal
31 Luis León Sánchez (Esp) Astana Pro Team
32 Martin Velits (Svk) Quick-Step Floors
33 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
34 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ
35 Paul Martens (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
36 Ben Swift (GBr) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
37 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team
38 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team
39 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
40 Arnaud Courteille (Fra) FDJ
41 Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC Racing Team
42 Cameron Meyer (Aus) UniSA-Australia
43 Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky
44 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-Scott
45 Sven Erik Bystrøm (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin
46 Lucas Hamilton (Aus) UniSA-Australia
47 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Astana Pro Team
48 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Trek-Segafredo
49 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb
50 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott
51 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
52 Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica-Scott
53 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Bahrain-Merida
54 Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ
55 Francois Bidard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
56 Francisco Ventoso (Esp) BMC Racing Team
57 Clement Chevrier (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
58 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
59 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
60 Rudiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
61 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac
62 José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin
63 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Team Sky
64 Kenny Elissonde (Fra) Team Sky
65 Ruben Guerreiro (Por) Trek-Segafredo
66 Louis Meintjes (RSA) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
67 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Sunweb
68 Koen de Kort (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
69 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
70 Roger Kluge (Ger) Orica-Scott
71 Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
72 Samuel Jenner (Aus) UniSA-Australia
73 Sebastian Henao Gomez (Col) Team Sky
74 Alex Howes (USA) Cannondale-Drapac
75 Enric Mas (Esp) Quick-Step Floors
76 Amaël Moinard (Fra) BMC Racing Team
77 Jeremy Maison (Fra) FDJ
78 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac
79 Artyom Zakharov (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
80 Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
81 Víctor de la Parte (Esp) Movistar Team
82 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Esp) Movistar Team
83 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team
84 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac
85 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team
86 Laurent Didier (Lux) Trek-Segafredo
87 Marco Marcato (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
88 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
89 Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin
90 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Katusha-Alpecin
91 James Shaw (GBr) Lotto Soudal
92 Jai Hindley (Aus) UniSA-Australia
93 Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data
94 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
95 Manuele Mori (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
96 Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale
97 Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Sunweb
98 Ondrej Cink (Cze) Bahrain-Merida
99 Marc Soler (Esp) Movistar Team
100 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
101 Michael Storer (Aus) UniSA-Australia
102 Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) Bahrain-Merida
103 Callum Scotson (Aus) UniSA-Australia
104 Alexey Vermeulen (USA) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
105 Sander Armee (Bel) Lotto Soudal
106 Peter Stetina (USA) Trek-Segafredo
107 Jesus Herrada Lopez (Esp) Movistar Team
108 Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Soudal
109 Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
110 José Herrada Lopez (Esp) Movistar Team
111 Koen Bouwman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
112 William Clarke (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac
113 Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension Data
114 Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
115 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
116 Angel Vicioso Arcos (Esp) Katusha-Alpecin
117 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal
118 Thomas Scully (NZl) Cannondale-Drapac
119 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
120 Ben O'Connor (Aus) Dimension Data all s.t.
121 Michal Kolár (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:15
122 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb s.t.
123 Chun Kai Feng (Tpe) Bahrain-Merida 0:23
124 Tyler Farrar (USA) Dimension Data 0:26
125 Jacobus Venter (RSA) Dimension Data 0:30
126 Ian Stannard (GBr) Team Sky 0:32
127 Lennard Hofstede (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:50
128 Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
129 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-Scott both s.t.
130 Damien Howson (Aus) Orica-Scott 3:35
131 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Astana Pro Team s.t.
132 Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana Pro Team 6:56
DNF Johan Le Bon (Fra) FDJ


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.